new OS or just use the same old one? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2007, 06:23 PM   #41 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: new OS or just use the same old one?

Okay the 2nd one is cheaper cause it is Home not Pro like the first link. Home is cheaper than Pro.

As for you original question...yeah. I think XP Pro would be good for gaming. I mean how many games do you knwo dont run on XP? Halo 2, Crysis and a fwe of the newest ones out? Other than that they all run on XP. So any of the older games will be jsut fine.

Quote:
i couldn't find that it had a service pack but whts in those?
Are you asking what a Service Pack is??
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 08:12 PM   #42 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: new OS or just use the same old one?

uhm yes what is a servise pack? also, what does pro have that home doesn't making it more expensive, i'm starting to get low on cash and don't wana pay for wht i wont use.

BIG Q- will all games from here on stop using xp and switch to vista?! or am i safe with xp

so from this, what do YOU sugest i get? i only will use my comp for talking to friends, searching forums, school work, and playing games.
__________________

Z e i g is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 08:32 PM   #43 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: new OS or just use the same old one?

Alright well i will say use Google to find out what Service Packs are. I mean they have been around since Windows 98. Basically they are a collectionf of fixes to the OS. I am sorry but if you are building a machine you should at least know this stuff. It is very basic info.

As for Home VS Pro.

XP Home VS XP Pro - Google Search

Yes the games from here on out will use Vista. So if you are a big gamer you will HAVE to switch to Vista at some point.

I suggest Vista cause i dont think it is that bad. Others will disagree with me.

Sorry about the harsh words but XP has been out for almost 7 years and not knowing the difference after all this time. Not knowing what a Service Pack is. Kinda hard to build a PC and not know some of the very basics of the Operating Systems is hard to grasp.

But at least the info is there on Google to find. Dont always have to wait for a answer from someone here. Goggle will be faster.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 10:03 PM   #44 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: new OS or just use the same old one?

no prob i can take it lol, have u had any probs with vista..? and will my build take it? (its on the last page only change from the sugested build on the first page is the graphics card and the mobo) budget just went up around 200$
Z e i g is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 10:24 PM   #45 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: new OS or just use the same old one?

I have not had any issues with it. I also have used it since it was a Beta and have had plenty of time to work with it. Almost 3 years since it started the Beta to today. So it isnt that hard for me to work with.

The system should handle it just fine. 2GB of RAM is good.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 10:26 PM   #46 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to Z e i g
Default Re: new OS or just use the same old one?

WOOT! thanks, and wht did u think about that last mobo that was sugested?
Z e i g is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 10:32 PM   #47 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: new OS or just use the same old one?

Well it depends. The nVidia bord is decent. The Intel Board by Gigabyte can have more thigns done with it. It will Overclock better it has a better chipset with the Intel P35 in my opinion.

But if you dont care about overclocking then you will be jsut fine with the nVidia board. Be forwarned though. The nforce on teh boards also have a built in firewall. So they can be troublesome at times as well. Plus some of the chipsets by nVidia are known to have issues with either XP or Vista. If the board is Vista Certified then i wouldnt worry about it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 02:33 PM   #48 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: new OS or just use the same old one?

I'm not trying to be rude, but Z e i g, you are asking way too many things that could be figured out by either browsing through all the topics with 400 posts or using google. You have over 100 posts on this forum, so I don't understand why you can't find out pretty much all of this info by yourself...

go to google and type in "difference 64-bit 32-bit" or something. You will learn a lot more by reading up on things like that than asking general questions on a forum.

If you want suggestions on builds, there's plenty of suggestions already in other sections of this site. Also, newegg has user comments which will help you grasp somewhat of an idea of how that particular piece of hardware will perform.
__________________

__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.