new firefox user please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2005, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 63
Wink new firefox user please help

hi there all I have just got firefox but have not installed yet is there anything important I should know??like should i get rid of internet explorer off my puter or leave it that kind of stuff ??
thanks to all for there advice
manda
__________________

madmum is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Click on the installer and install

Thats it ^_^
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 63
Default

well a freind of mine put it on the other day and it keeps coming up with an activex error ?but firefox doesn't have activex its like IE is still running
madmum is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

The unfortunate fact is that you CANNOT get rid of IE. If you try uninstalling, all it does is take out the shortcuts on the desktop and in the start menu.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 63
Default

oh ok is there any other reason this would be happening
madmum is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Firefox doesn't have the rights to use activeX only Microsoft does so don't worry just install firefox it's easy and will be the best thing you ever did to improve your browsing.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 09:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
Default

I can vouch for that, its good to have a cleaner cookies folder for once.
Damolee is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 10:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I like all the plug ins you can use for it. But the added security is also nice.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Unfornatuly you still need IE. Since Windows Update only works in IE you have to keep it on your ocmputer. Plus not all web site can be viewed in FireFox. So i would do as Tyler sugests and install but get the plug ins and extensions that you need. That way you can enjoy the web with FireFox but still go everywhere that you need to.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 12:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 63
Default

what plug-ins exactly are you talking about I havr read about the plug-ins but am not to sure which one i really need
__________________

madmum is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.