new ethernet card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2003, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to gammer1800 Send a message via Yahoo to gammer1800
Default new ethernet card

i just bought a sohoware 10/100 pci adaptor sfa110a Version 3.0R. I have Windows Xp OS. It says that the drivers come with the OS but it doesnt show under the add new hardware that it is installed and i was wandering if anyone knew where i can get the drivers for xp so that i can install the ethernet card. Help if you can. I would very apperciate it.
__________________

gammer1800 is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 11:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Does it show them in device manager under Network Adapters?
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 04-27-2003, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

you don't need to use the add hardware thing. When you first install the card and turn the computer on xp should notice that it is there and automatically install the drivers.
__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 04-27-2003, 06:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

It doesn't even recognize that a NIC is in the computer?
__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-28-2003, 04:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

remove the NIC if Found in DEVICE MANAGER,,

then remove the card from the PC,, reboot,, without the NIC in,,

let the machine start,, then power down normally,,

then re-insert card,, try a different slot too,, then reboot machine,,

As Stated ,, the Hardware wizard should find this automatically and install drivers to run the card,, SOHO is not an unknown vendor,, so it should find it,,

cheers
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.