new ethernet card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2003, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to gammer1800 Send a message via Yahoo to gammer1800
Default new ethernet card

i just bought a sohoware 10/100 pci adaptor sfa110a Version 3.0R. I have Windows Xp OS. It says that the drivers come with the OS but it doesnt show under the add new hardware that it is installed and i was wandering if anyone knew where i can get the drivers for xp so that i can install the ethernet card. Help if you can. I would very apperciate it.

gammer1800 is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="" target="_blank"><img src="" /></a>
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv

Does it show them in device manager under Network Adapters?

\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 04-27-2003, 12:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211

you don't need to use the add hardware thing. When you first install the card and turn the computer on xp should notice that it is there and automatically install the drivers.
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 04-27-2003, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307

It doesn't even recognize that a NIC is in the computer?
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-28-2003, 03:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

remove the NIC if Found in DEVICE MANAGER,,

then remove the card from the PC,, reboot,, without the NIC in,,

let the machine start,, then power down normally,,

then re-insert card,, try a different slot too,, then reboot machine,,

As Stated ,, the Hardware wizard should find this automatically and install drivers to run the card,, SOHO is not an unknown vendor,, so it should find it,,

Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.