New drive, installing Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2008, 06:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default New drive, installing Vista

Simple title, but a little misleading.

I finally got a new HD to replace the one that died. My plan is to partition it up a boot and dual boot XP and Vista. That's where this thread comes in.

My current drive has two partitions, one for XP and a blank one (intended for Vista, but that was before my second drive died). I am going to install on the new drive (newer, faster). I need to move XP to the new drive and install Vista as well.

What I need to know... What will be the best way to do this? I have Ghost and Partition Magic, so either is an option. Should I just transfer my current setup (resizing the partitions, of course), or what? No, I don't want to reinstall XP... went through that lately and don't want to have to reconstruct it again.

Anyway, give me a game plan.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 02-14-2008, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: New drive, insalling Vista

Well give me a idea of your current setup. What size is the new drive? What size are your current partitions? Do you plan on keeping all the installed stuff for Vista on that drive?

Best bet is 30-40GB Partition for XP, 50GB or more for Vista. I would say if you plan on keeping all sorts of isntalled stuff on it then about 70GB should so.

For transfer of XP use Ghost. Then install Vista. With XP you will have to redo teh boot.ini file as the transfer will not redo the boot for you. It will show the current drive and all that. You will have to change the disk() number in there to correctly associate with the new drive it is installed on.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 10:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: New drive, insalling Vista

Current drive = 80 gig, split 40, 30-something

New drive = 250 gig. I am going to put XP and Vista on this drive, and maybe a partition each for programs. The 80 I will format and make a media storage disk. I am hoping to actually get my other 250 up, but I think it is dead dead.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 02-14-2008, 11:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: New drive, installing Vista

Well then i would say 40 for XP would be fine. As for Vista i would recommend around 50. Then make another 30GB for Apps that can be installed for both? Maybe?

Then use the rest for storage or whatever you so desire. But 40 - XP is good. 50 or more for Vista is good. Rest for storage.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 01:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: New drive, installing Vista

I'll probably go with 50/50/75/75, XP/Vista/XP usage/Vista usage. The 80 will be general stuff, like downloads and media that is available to both. Or not. I'll see when i finally install it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 02-16-2008, 03:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: New drive, installing Vista

Just one note, i'd install vista first before ghosting xp across. purely because vista can be very temperamental, and my GOD they better release sp1 for it sooner than they plan too! then some script kiddie can download the sp and mod it to be 100% more efficient. . oy vey.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 11:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: New drive, installing Vista

Installing Vista and then ghosting XP would totally screw XP. I don't want to have to reinstall it as I just went through that fairly recently.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 02-16-2008, 06:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: New drive, installing Vista

Not in my experience it wouldn't. I have tried ghosting xp then ghosting vista, and vista REALLY screwed. and when I tried the other way round it worked fine. I'll do some more tests on that. nehuz
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 07:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: New drive, installing Vista

Ghosting XP after Vista would mess up your bootloader which i have already mentioned. Ghosting before will have no effect. It would be just like installing XP before installing Vista.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 01:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: New drive, installing Vista

number one rule to dual booting Windows OS. always install the older one first

trotter, I would leave the 80 alone. disconnect it first. put the 250 in. make a 50 gig partition for vista. I would make the other 200 gig a my document folder that both of them can use. install vista. when you are done put the other drive back. you can now load your Os without any bootloader. you hit f12 and pick which harddrive to boot or you go to your bios and set which harddrive to boot first.

this is my setup on my wife computer (it used to be my setup too). I just don't go to vista anymore
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
INstalling vista? Griffster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-14-2007 08:36 AM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
Vista -> XP pc_boy Microsoft Windows and Software 47 10-08-2007 10:07 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Upgrade and Optical drive problems SteveMKIIDub Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-11-2007 07:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.