New dial-up connection? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2004, 09:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Default New dial-up connection?

Hello guys
I have just replaced my motherboard and processor from a AMD XP1600 to a XP2400.
Started up the machine and it wouldn't run the OS. So I did a windows xp repair from the XP disk and it repaired ok or so it seemed. When I tried to connect to the internet I noticed that my desktop dial-up connection icon had gone.
Ok I thought, I will make a new connection. Clicked on the "make a new connection" icon, then proceeded through the various screens of the wizard until I got to the "select your modem type" where you get the options of what type of connection you have. I put in "connect to broadband adsl" and then the wizard just disappeared. What is happening?
The ADSL line is up and running no problem. (PIPEX 512k).
Just can't seem to log on down it.
Will I have to reload windows completely from scratch?
Seems a pity as the repair was looking good.
Is it something to do with Administrator privaleges that have been reset by the repair?
__________________

ashy22 is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 11:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 81
Default

You installed new board while OS stayed the same?
Dude, you gotta reainstall your OS over new board. It's not configured for it. LOL
__________________

__________________
With respect, 00110011011110000111000000110000
3xp0 is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 11:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Check n' see if the TCP/IP protocol is installed correctly ...U can do this from the Network Connections icon in control panel ...

If nessacary remove n' add the TCP/IP protocol ...
U can also manually change the IP etc..for ur Adsl connection here instead of running the wizard.
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 08:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for your input guys.
I decided to reload the software that came with the ADSL modem (Conexent PCI card) .
The following steps do NOT occur. (sorry that the graphics didn't come across with the text) for some reason.


This next bit is from the user manual


Chapter 3.4.3 Making a RFC 2364/2516 Connection - WinXP

After installation, you will find AccessRunner DSL shortcut on the desktop. You can use it to dial out and make a connection with your ISP.

<Step01>
The Connect To window appears. Enter the User Name and Password supplied by your Internet service provider (ISP). Then click Connect.


<Step02>
The Connection Established window appear. Internet service is now established. Click Close and then the Diagnostic tool icon will appear on the task bar.




If I click on the Accessrunner ADSL icon on the desktop it doesn't carry out steps 1 and 2 but just goes to tell you that the ADSL connection is up and OK.


Hope I am making sense.


edit
Tried again last night and got error message 711. ??
ashy22 is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 07:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Talking

Sorted it out.
Did a workaround fix to the registry. Recieved the fix from the Microsoft knowledgebase.

Article - 329441

or

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;329441

Cheers anyway.
Thanx 4 your input.
ashy22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.