New Dell = slow? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2004, 12:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to hbhakta
Default New Dell = slow?

i recently bought a dell that has a 3.0 pentium 4 processor with hyperthreading (fsb 533). also i have a gig of ram. ever since i have gotten my computer it seems to feel slow, at times reallly slow. i dont know y this happpens but do u think its because of all the stuff they load onto it b4.
__________________

hbhakta is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 12:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Not sure...doesnt seem right, check with CTRL+ALT+DELETE and see what the programs that you have running on it are.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 12:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to hbhakta
Default

ive done that many times, and i end task to the ones that i know i dont need. also when i first got my dell i had around 50 proccesses running. i later when to msconfig and deselected the ones i didnt need. it runs at 30 and still i have no clue y it does this
hbhakta is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 01:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

hbhakta,

With a brand new Dell running XP and a full gig of RAM, you shouldn't notice anything usual like this.

Please be more specific. When you say slow, what exactly are you referring to? Does it happen when you're browsing the internet? Overall performance? Switching between tasks?? Just what exactly is slow?
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 01:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to hbhakta
Default

when i mean slow im, talking about overall performance. like when i open up a folder it takes a good 5-10 seconds. i was thinking of just reformatting. also zipping up files take a long time. it seems my old amd 1.2 ghz with 256 ram was faster.
hbhakta is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 02:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Well you certainly could reformat, but let's see what a mod has to say before you jump the gun on that.

If you decide to go ahead and reformat, Dell should have shipped you a recovery or utility CD w/ all your drivers on it. Do you see anything like that included w/ your shipment?
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 02:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Usually, Dell pre-installs a whole lot of promotional software and demos on your PC. If you have Norton 2004, that could very well be the reason for your slowness, for it is a major resource hog. Remove everything you don't need and see if it gets any better.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 02:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Usually, Dell pre-installs a whole lot of promotional software and demos on your PC. If you have Norton 2004, that could very well be the reason for your slowness, for it is a major resource hog. Remove everything you don't need and see if it gets any better.
There you go harking on Norton again... yeah.. we already know what you think of Norton. Read his system specs again... do you seriously think that with a full gig of ram that ANY ONE particular pre-installed software could cause these symptoms? Somehow I doubt it.

Also last I saw on Dell's website, they have started offering a 6-mo promo of McAffee rather than Norton.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 02:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Fear
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lone Wolf
There you go harking on Norton again... yeah.. we already know what you think of Norton. Read his system specs again... do you seriously think that with a full gig of ram that ANY ONE particular pre-installed software could cause these symptoms? Somehow I doubt it.

Also last I saw on Dell's website, they have started offering a 6-mo promo of McAffee rather than Norton.
I believe they offer them both and you can choose which one you want. They gave me a 90-day trial of McAfee with my Dell.

The CD Lone Wolf was talking about should be blue and say "Drivers and Utilities. For Reinstalling Dell _____(whatever computer model you have) System Software" on it. In case you need it.

And how recently did you get this new computer?


-Silent Fear
Silent_Fear is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 03:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to hbhakta
Default

i got it exactly 84 days ago.
__________________

hbhakta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.