New computer shut down after 5-10min - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2006, 02:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default New computer shut down after 5-10min

I need some help I recently purchase a new motherboard, hard drive, ram and video card and built my own computer. The problem is the computer comes on and we where able to load windows XP. Now after 5-10 min the computer shuts it self down and reboots. Here are the components inside the computer:

MB ASUS A8V K8T800PRO 939 motherboard
VGA EVGA GF6600 mother board
CPU AMD/A64 3700 + 2.2 G 939 1 M R
MEM 512Mx/PTR D400 PSD1G400KH R
HD 300G/sT 7K 16M ATA 100 Seagate
DVD Burner ASUS/DRW

When we first start the computer we where able to load Windows XP home edition with no problem. Then we connect to the internet and start downloading and installing drivers and this is when we start having the problem of the computer shutting down every 10 min. We have switch out the Ram with other Ram in other computer and had the same problem. I also double checked all the connections still having the problem.

Also the hard drive is reading just 130GB when it's 300 GB hard drive? How do we get the HD to recognize the 300 GB?

I would really appreciate any help some can give me in correcting this problem. Thanks
__________________

Knipper is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Ok what is the rating on your powersupply?

When you said you installed some driver, what hardware or hardwares did you update?

130 barrier can be fix by getting the latest service pack 2, then go to disk managment in adminstrative tools/computer management and formating the unallocated left over. Your motherboard should support harddrive over 130. Your BIOS should also.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 02:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

most likely caused by a weak psu
download sandra
http://www.benchmarkhq.ru/fclick/fclick.php?fid=49
get into hardware-->mainboard scroll down (about to the middle) then youll see the voltages under "voltage sensors" , take a screenshot and ill have a look , what psu exactly is it? brand/model (look on its sticker if you dont know)

as for the second issue , windows xp without any service pack doesnt support partitions beyond 130gb so install service pack 1 or 2 , then as alredy said use disk managment , and better slipstream the SP for future installs
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 02:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Yea you can install sp2 onto your CD or as they say it slipstream sp2 onto the CD for future use to save sometime. This site should help you.
http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase...slipstream.asp

When updating your computer, you only need SP2. Skip SP1, because SP2 already contain SP1.
Law is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 03:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default

The computer ran for 1 1/2 hours and shut down we receivced a error message saying the video card is unstable. What could cause a video card error?
Knipper is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 03:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Bad driver, bad video card hardware, other conflicts (software, hardware). The Power supply especially! You still haven't even told us the power supply information. Maybe answering what we ask would give us a better idea, else how the heck would we know.
Law is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Sorry the power supply is 450 watts. It is not the power supply I think it's the video card I did some research and this particular video card has conflicts with this motherboard that cause the computer to crash. Has anyone else heard anything bad about this particular video card and motherboard?
Knipper is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

thats not enough info , what brand/model?
and what about that sandra screenshot i requested?
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 04:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

hit f8 when you turn on the computer

hit disable automatic restart, then tell us what the error code is
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 02:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default

The error state video card unstable and shuts off the computer I am going to try a different video card.
__________________

Knipper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.