New computer, 4 Gigs windows cant support? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2006, 08:46 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Anyone care to explain how increasing the FSB will cure a software problem with Windows that makes it not able to allocate more than 3GB of RAM? Yeah, makes no sense. Linux on that exact system will run 4GB just fine. The problem is the software; the problem is Windows. Not a lack of FSB speed.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 08:58 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14
Default

I'm home, here are the requested documents:

Boot.ini
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Windo ws XP Media Center Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

CPU-Z Screenshots:



BIOS Settings:
I'll upload these in 10 minutes.
__________________

jaketone is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 10:20 PM   #23 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Anyone care to explain how increasing the FSB will cure a software problem with Windows that makes it not able to allocate more than 3GB of RAM? Yeah, makes no sense. Linux on that exact system will run 4GB just fine. The problem is the software; the problem is Windows. Not a lack of FSB speed.
the same way those old dell optiplex system with rambus ram wouldn't recognize any more than 128mb of ram in each slot even when you threw 4 512 sticks in. dell had those system fsb at 100 mhz and they wouldn't let you raise it. now if you put those same sticks in a 133 fsb machine you had 2 gigs of ram
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 02:05 AM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
the same way those old dell optiplex system with rambus ram wouldn't recognize any more than 128mb of ram in each slot even when you threw 4 512 sticks in. dell had those system fsb at 100 mhz and they wouldn't let you raise it. now if you put those same sticks in a 133 fsb machine you had 2 gigs of ram
Just get a Knoppix disc, boot to it, and see that it's Window's fault, not Dell's.
The General is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 04:53 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

Dear General... please stop hating on Windows and being a hypocrite. If you don't understand an OS, you don't have to hate it. Your 'anti-windows' comments are OFF topic. (and annoying)

jaketone You only showed us one of the 4 dimms. But it doesn't matter. Your problem IS in the mobo fsb setting, and yes EricB, dell bios will NOT let you change any of the over/underclocking settings. (this is most evident by the PC2-5300 showing up as 333MHz)

Come to think of it, (depending on what bios you have) a bios update could resolve this. (if they changed any speeds in the update) Check support.dell.com and see if there is a newer version. (you can check your bios version in the middle of the "mainboard" tab in cpu-z)
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 02:01 AM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by jaketone
I'm home, here are the requested documents:

Boot.ini
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Windo ws XP Media Center Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
[QUOTE]

There's your problem, your Boot.ini isn't configured correctly... Make a copy of your current boot.ini file, and save it as Boot.ini.old, then edit the actual Boot.ini (not the boot.ini.old) and make it

Boot.ini
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOW
S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Windo ws XP Media Center Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /3GB


That SHOULD be the right switch, but I'm not completely sure. Which is why you should make a backup copy.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 02:26 AM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fuxal0t
Dear General... please stop hating on Windows and being a hypocrite. If you don't understand an OS, you don't have to hate it. Your 'anti-windows' comments are OFF topic. (and annoying)
Fact: It's a well known fact that 32-bit Windows has problems using more than 3GB of RAM.
Fact: It's a well known fact that Linux has no problem using more than 3GB of RAM.
Fact: Booting Knoppix could rule out any possibility that it's a hardware problem.

If you have a problem with any of these facts, then you can take a power drill and some barbed wire and ram it down your throat.

Also:

1. What makes me a hypocrit? Offering a way to rule out the idea that it might be a hardware problem? Or could it be that you don't know what a "hypocrit" is and you're just calling me names?
2. I do understand Windows. The reason I don't use it is because I don't like it. You can't just assume I don't use it because I don't understand it.
3. If you think that offering a way of ruling out the idea that it might be a hardware problem is off-topic, then you really have no idea what you are talking about. The off-topic posts I made weren't anti-Windows, they were anti-Mac-hater posts.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.