New Build = New OS??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2007, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default New Build = New OS???

OK so here's basically what I need to know and all other details/comments are of course welcome. I'm about to build a second computer. I already have XP SP2 installed on my current rig but when I build my 2nd rig I want to put the current one in my living room and hook it up to my LCD tv through DVI out.

The important question I have is: Will I need to buy another OS disc/license in order to run 2 computers in my home with both connected to the internet? IF I can then how do I do so since my computer(ancient) came with XP installed. I have the key but I can't find the windows disk. There must be a program or two that can fix all my woes. I doubt I can get MS to mail me a new one since I'm not in the states until Xmas. Thanks in advance.
__________________

Pdawg is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Build = New OS???

Double Posted
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: New Build = New OS???

Double thread..?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Build = New OS???

He opened two threads.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Build = New OS???

u double posted....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Build = New OS???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pdawg View Post
OK so here's basically what I need to know and all other details/comments are of course welcome. I'm about to build a second computer. I already have XP SP2 installed on my current rig but when I build my 2nd rig I want to put the current one in my living room and hook it up to my LCD tv through DVI out.

The important question I have is: Will I need to buy another OS disc/license in order to run 2 computers in my home with both connected to the internet? IF I can then how do I do so since my computer(ancient) came with XP installed. I have the key but I can't find the windows disk. There must be a program or two that can fix all my woes. I doubt I can get MS to mail me a new one since I'm not in the states until Xmas. Thanks in advance.
btw... no.. unless u have an OEM copy....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Build = New OS???

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
btw... no.. unless u have an OEM copy....
Why not?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Build = New OS???

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Why not?
well unless ur willing to go thru deactivating it on ur first PC, and willing to call Microsoft or tell them to activate it for u
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Build = New OS???

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
well unless ur willing to go thru deactivating it on ur first PC, and willing to call Microsoft or tell them to activate it for u
What? Just install it and activate it on the new comp...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Build = New OS???

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
What? Just install it and activate it on the new comp...
not on OEM copies... they are one time thing...... u use it once and then its he-double hockey sticks telling Microsoft to reactivate it.... but its really likely that u have a retail copy... so u shouldn't really worry
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build, suggestions asim8787 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-10-2007 07:13 AM
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM
New Build Nick New Systems | Building and Buying 16 07-28-2007 07:04 PM
Computer Building Tutorials (videos)... first build OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-15-2007 12:18 PM
New build won't POST... couple quesitons dkh Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 06-29-2007 04:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.