Never had this before... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2004, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
paintballer's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 317
Angry Never had this before...

For no reason whatsoever, every once and a while (keeps happening more and more frequently) I get the following error message and have to restart as I have no other choice:

A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to
prevent damage to your computer


If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen,
restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

Check to make sure any new hardware or software is porperly installed.
If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer
for any windows updates you might need.

If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware of software.
Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing. If you need to use safe
mode to remove or disable components, restart your computer, press f8 to select
advanced startup options, and then select safe mode.

Technical information:

*** STOP: 0x000000D1 (0x01B5B005, 0x00000008, 0x00000001, 0x77F568DC)

Beginning dump of physical memory
Physical memory dump complete.
Contact your system administrator or technical support group for further assistance.

Anyone got any ideas on how to fix this. While im at it, on the same computer everytime it starts up windows media player starts up, but it wont play anything and when you try to close it it freezes. I ran spybot but it didnt find anything

Any help on either of these problems would be greatly appreciated.

paintballer is offline  
Old 05-01-2004, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot

PCI problem. Seemsto me like it may be trying to use PCI for default video output?

New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 05-02-2004, 11:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
paintballer's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 317

but it just pops up out of the blue, I'll be on aim or here and it will just come up.
Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Biostar T-Force 550
2GB Gskill Ram
250GB Western Digital
200GB Western Digital
2 DVD Burners
Apevia 500W PSU
XION Solaris Case
XFX GeForce 8600GT
Hanns·G HG-191RP 19" 2ms Widescreen LCD
Ubuntu, Windows XP

Acer Aspire 5570-2609
paintballer is offline  
Old 05-02-2004, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 45

It's probably a IRQ conflict... I found something that might point you in the right direction
Ry-box is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.