NetZero Internet - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2006, 11:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Joka
Default

I wish I could do a reinstall, but I bought this computer used from a friend and she could never find the restore disks. Is there a way I can reformat my harddrive, but keep WinXP? I don't really have the money to buy a new WinXP disk, but if I do buy one in the future what would you suggest?
__________________

Silent_Joka is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 11:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

XP Home for basic tasks but get Pro if you want to network, makes it much easier. Cant help you on that one, either the restore cd or a format will solve this issue completelty unless someone else knows something which is always possible
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 11:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Joka
Default

Ok, I have an off subject question, well kind of off subject, I have a 74.5Gb harddrive, is there a way I can partion it with out loosing any of my data on my harddrive? It's currently only 1 partion. (C: Drive)

Edit : Also, What about WinXPMCE?
Silent_Joka is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 11:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

easy way is to use Acronis Disk Director or Partition majic
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 11:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Joka
Default

Ok, can I still use those if my drive says it's already partioned?
Silent_Joka is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 11:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

yea, you can split them up as many times as you want.....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 11:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Joka
Default

Would you mind walking me though this while I did it? It wouldn't be tonight though it would be some other time that would be good for you, I'm an 'intermidiate' computer wiz... Not the best and I get confused EASILY!!! Plus I don't want to take the chance of messing up my computer anymore than what it currently is. =/
__________________

Silent_Joka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.