Networking with Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2006, 01:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Angry Networking with Windows XP

Why is networking with XP such a pain in the butt?

Since I've installed XP on my computer, I have yet to create a successful network with it. I can never see other people on the network, and if I do, I can never EVER get around to logging in to share files. XP just refuses to log anyone into my computer even with the correct username and password. I never had these problem with windows 2000, and this is so frustrating!

Besides installing all the protocols, being in the same workgroup, and having the right log-in's, what else is there to set up for a windows network? I know there are extra security things with XP, but are they supposed to completely stop people from logging in to share files? I’ve tried configuring IP’s, but that doesn’t work either.

Games run fine over the network, it’s just that whenever I hook up to one I either see nobody, or I can't log in to transfer stuff. Whats going on?
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 02:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I also have trouble with networking on XP, mostly because of that ****ing firewall.

Its a pain in the ***, and i always leave it off, cause i have a router
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 04:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 83
Default

To browse computers on the network make sure that the computer browser service is enabled. To do this you will need to go to control panel and go to administrative tools, go to services and search for computer browser. If the xp firewall is the problem go to control panel click windows firewall and turn it off. You can configure windows firewall to allow the appropiate network connections for your needs.
Hawk is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 06:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

What problems you have that are most present? I have my home network setup running XP Home and Pro and always go back and fourth between them without network prompts? I simply browse them as if I was on a domain...hmmm... Let me see what I did I dont think it was anything special.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 06:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Ok I lied to you I remeber how I did this now after looking at my setup ;-) This like any workgroup for passthrough authentication to work must have a common account setup on all workgroup computers. This will allow auth to take place on each workgroup computer

If you need more detail..let me elaborate. You create an account on lets say all 5 of your workgroup computers named EXACTLY the samething with EXACTLY the same password no exceptions. To save time I usually create a new user say WGUSERS make the admins to the local machine and set the password. Then do this on each PC in the workgroup. Logon as this user on the workgroup on any PC and auth will take place and you can simply browse and not be prompted for credentials.

If you already have accounts in place that you are currently using then simply add those accounts to each of the work group computers and make them admins with the same password you are using. This is why workgroups suck so bad because there is no central authentication system like kerberos in an AD env with the tickets and ticket granting tickets and..yea dont want to get to nerdy there ;-)
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 09:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Networking with Windows XP

Quote:
Originally posted by Sw1tCh[FX]
XP just refuses to log anyone into my computer even with the correct username and password.
I'm thinking that he has a 3rd party firewall blocking connections. that's usually what happens when you see the password screen
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 09:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

or on the computer ur trying to access, create a new user and then when the computer ur on trying to access the other, use the username and password u just created to log on.. if this makes any sense
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 12:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Re: Re: Networking with Windows XP

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
I'm thinking that he has a 3rd party firewall blocking connections. that's usually what happens when you see the password screen
I always turn my firewall off when i hook up to a LAN because we're seldom ever connected to the internet when we do it.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Re: Re: Networking with Windows XP

Quote:
Originally posted by Sw1tCh[FX]
I always turn my firewall off when i hook up to a LAN because we're seldom ever connected to the internet when we do it.
what firewall are you using? certain one like ZA pro will still block the connection even if it is turn off, unless you have it configured for networking.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

I use the Nvidia forceware firewall because of the hardware support on my motherboard.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.