networking problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2004, 08:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to DahWhon
Unhappy networking problems

I have a t1100 emachines pc with windows xp on it i have it networked to another better emachines with a wireless netgear router, for some reason, when i run the wizard to network it, i cant see the other network places, i have shut off the firewall

thanx
__________________

DahWhon is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 11:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

wrong forum dude
__________________

Pavlyk is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 03:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Make sure you are using a straight CAT5 cable.

It can sometimes take some time before the other computer is detected.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 06:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133
Default

Having a similar prob - tring to get a network between pc and laptop both with xp. I have straight cat5 cable from each machine going into a 5 port ethernet switch. After I run the wizards there is apparently some packets being sent receive, but network symbol on both machines has a kind of yellow exclamation and sais limited or no connection. Tried firewall off. Sorry to hijack you topic DahWon
duncan is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 06:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Could also be a hardware problem. Maybe a broken cable or NIC.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.