Networking Issue - Win XP Pro SP1 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2005, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 72
Default Networking Issue - Win XP Pro SP1

I have been on a small home network for years and everything has worked perfectly. There are six computers in my house, all connecting to a Linksys wireless router, and that connects to a cable modem. We can all share files back and forth with no problems...

Then the other day, on my computer which is wired not wirelessly connected to the router, I tried playing around with proxies. Bottom line is I didnt do what I needed to do at the time, and something got screwed up with all of my network sharing on my pc.

Even though all of my hard drives still say they are "shared" nobody else on my network can see me, and when I go to My Network Places I cant see anybody else on our workgroup either which is MSHOME.

I tried running the network wizard again, and still nothing.

Any ideas on how to get this working? TIA.
__________________

Knowledge is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

disable your proxies and use autmatically configure script

of manually configure your machine. use CMP to ipconfig to see your ip.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 05:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 72
Default

I have disabled my proxies... I reset my browser to use my default connection and everything.

How do I manually configure my machine to be on my network? And why would I need my IP? I know my IP, both behind my router and outside it.... What will this do for me?

Sorry to ask so many questions, but to be honest I am having a hard time understanding your post.
Knowledge is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 07:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

ping your ip from your other computers

here the ipconfig (Your ip address)

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 72
Default

I cant get a response on my ip address from another machine.

Now what.
Knowledge is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 10:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

not good.

try this open your web browser on the messed up computer . type your default gateway ip address in (usually something like http://192.168.2.1/)



click restore factory defaults.
if that isn't it. I don't know what to tell you. call your ISP
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 12:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 72
Default

You think it has something to do with the router?

I personally think it had something to do with my network settings in Windows. I was hoping to find some kind of common problem with proxies and networking....
Knowledge is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 01:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I hoping that the router will reset your ip.

have you tried unistalling your network drivers and rebooting windows and letting them reinstall themselves? or unplug all modems, routers and computers for 5 minutes then turn them back on
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 72
Default

I tried resettting the router, and unpluggin it... both didnt work.

Also when I try to access my workgroup I get a dialog box saying that I might not have permission...

I know its a setting, I just dont know where.
Knowledge is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 72
Default

Wow... I feel super super dumb... It was my Windows Firewall. Something turned it on... Now that I turned it off again, like usual, everything is fine.

Thanks for the help, I really do apreciate it.
__________________

Knowledge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.