Netstat - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2006, 03:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to Haoming
Default Netstat

Could someone help me find a copy of netstat.exe for winxp? I seem to be missing it..

Thanks
__________________

Haoming is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 07:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

From what i have read on various sites it that netstat.exe and a couple other are related to trojan horses. So it is good that it got deleted from your PC.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...=Google+Search

That google search i did shows the first 4 or so articles talking about the trojans it is related to. I really dont think you would want something like that on your PC.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 11:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

netstat.exe is a valid item

Here is a copy from my pc

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=0HHMQY87


put it in your system 32 folder or you can just click it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 04:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

That seems wierd. I did a search on my PC and i found that file. But it came up as just netstat not netstat.exe so that could be why i found it. Maybe the .exe version is the virus while the non .exe is the good file.

Either way that was wierd that sites claim it as a virus yet it isnt. o.0
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

It is an .exe, it just doest show the extension, type netstat.exe in the run box and it will appear shortly
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 05:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Hmm that is just frickin odd. Why would it show up as a virus on the google search yet it is a valid file?

BTW i did type netstat.exe when it showed up in my search. I thought i had all file extensions shown. But either way i still dont get why sites say it is a virus.

Ah well another mystery for me to ponder.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 05:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I see where you go it from. I use MSN Search, it seems to be better for me, but I typed in that, no virus came up but when I went to google, it did
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 05:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Ahh. Okay so MSN Search didnt bring up the virus links but the Google ones dies. I will have to try MSN search a few more times instead of always using Google i guess.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 06:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

I personally dont really like google. It brings up everything and then some, I really dont need everything, MSN works just fine, I never had to resort to Google because MSN couldnt find anything.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.