Need Old School DOS expert - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2005, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Default Need Old School DOS expert

I was wondering if somene can help with this. Old school MS-DOS.
I have a milling machine that uses a Acrosser AR-B1570 CPU Board computer that just broke down. The program that runs this machine is custom and runs in MD-DOS. The machine boots from floppy. It has a product key connected to the parrallel port to allow program to run. All communication is done over the serial port.
My question is what would I need to do to get my Thinkpad to run this program? I assume the software is setup with all the info it needs to run this AR-B1570 on the floppy but running on my laptop it has problems.
The thinkpad runs memory check and whatever it does before going to the floppy to boot but then the floppy takes over and runs it's own routines including himem check.
Any help would be greatly appreciated since I am out of business until I get the CPU fixed.
I just seems to me if the AR-B1570 can run this machine so should the thinkpad.

Rob
__________________

artracing is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 02:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

you may be able to get some old DOS games on ebay...or download from the internet and save to floppy
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 12:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via Yahoo to wwwben
Default

"The thinkpad runs memory check and whatever it does before going to the floppy to boot but then the floppy takes over and runs it's own routines including himem check."

so the program dows not start from the floppy after the mem check? what happens next?
wwwben is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 12:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
you may be able to get some old DOS games on ebay...or download from the internet and save to floppy
And this answers his question how exactly???
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 10:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what DOS version is on the disk?
some DOS apps are not compatible with some DOS versions
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 01:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

are you saying that the acrosser makes your g-code program, then sends it to the milling machine via serial port?
derrmc is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 02:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Man, that is not good news. Why dont you just throw DOS on a computer, sans Windows, and have it hooked up to the machine via serial?
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.