Need More CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2006, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Default Need More CPU

Currently I am running WinXP Home edition, with 2GB RAM, an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2GHz processor, and an ATI Radeon X800 XL GPU.

I know games are programmed to utilize whatever remaining CPU you have, but whenever I play games like Doom 3, Metal Gear Solid 2, or other high quality games it's quite choppy. I know my GPU and processor is able to handle almost every game, plus some.

I know this isn't a RAM issue, because MGS2 is only utilizing about 60,000KBs at peak usage. And a total of 414MB out of 2458MB (With FireFox open (Uses around 50,000KBs)).

Here is a list of processes I have running in the background and their peak RAM usage, just about every one of them is either unable to be ended, or required for stability:

Quote:
alg.exe (3,500KB)
AluSchedulerSvc.exe (2,500KB)
CCAPP.EXE (57,500KB)
CCEVTMGR.EXE (7,000KB)
CCPROXY.EXE (15,000KB)
CCSETMGR.EXE (12,000KB)
csrss.exe (4,500KB)
explorer.exe (38,000KB)
ISSVC.exe (9,500KB)
lsass.exe (6,000KB)
NAVAPSVC.EXE (25,500KB)
services.exe (5,500KB)
SNDSrvc.exe (5,000KB)
SPBBCSvrc.exe (5,500KB)
svchost.exe (5,000KB)
svchost.exe (6,000KB)
svchost.exe (32,500KB)
svchost.exe (4,000KB)
svchost.exe (4,500KB
svchost.exe (4,500KB) (00-05 CPU)
symwsc.exe (8,000KB)
System (2,500KB)
System Idle Process (0KB) (90-99 CPU)
winlogon.exe (17,000KB)
How can I get my games to not run choppy anymore? Also I have up-to-date drivers.
__________________

Darkicon is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 09:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

you could try right clicking the game under processes in task manager and under set priority choose high. You can also scale back the settings in the game.
__________________

__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 10:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Try not running your games with all the settings set at high or full. I have some similar specs and even i dont run every game at full. I run 3.4GHz with HT, 2GB DDR2, nVidia 6800. Even Doom 3 which i can run at high and full i dont. It cuts back on the choppiness.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 01:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

your cpu CAN'T handle every game and then some out there. I bet you are taxing it when you play some of your demanding games. When I have firefox running while playing cod2 it lags a lot more then normal, and I have a 3500 @ 2.5ghz.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 11:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Default

Make sure you have the highest updates for your games- a lot of bug fixes are cpu usage.
__________________
- Link
Link68759 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 11:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

for doom 3 I played it at 1200x1024 with medium to high settings on a 6800GT.

What does kill games is AA and soft shadows turn them off just forget about them! it then gives you more flexability in upping texture detail etc also have AF at about x4 at most.

I wouldnt recommend 1600x1200 either you could try it but Id stick to 1280x1024.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 11:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Get a program called EndItAll, it's a must have for gamers, it kills whatever processes are NOT needed during game play, gives you a little extra CPU.

Download it from here.
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.