Need Help working on a Win98 SE box - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2006, 10:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via Yahoo to BubbaGump69
Default Need Help working on a Win98 SE box

A friend of mine has another friend that is having problems with her computer. It's a win98 se. I have no idea why she never bought a new one yet. Anyway she says she is having problems with this one so I said I would look at it. I played with it a little at her house and she showed me that the active desktop recover was showing. I didn't ask her too many questions. I just told her I'd make sure it was virus free and clean it up if needed. She did give me all the reinstall cd's if necessary. I took it home and put the hd in my xp machine as a slave. I scanned it with avg, spybot, adaware. I cleaned up a few things but nothing much. I took it out, reinstalled it in her box and booted it up. Worked fine. Not too bad for a 8 year old system. It has a 20 gb hd and she is only using 2gb. She said she was having problems loading a program and wanted to see if I could make some space. Well obviously it had the space. I think I have it working right. My question is about new software and how it will work on a 98 machine. I don't think she used this on the internet because she has no av or firewall software installed. She wants me to load aol (yeah I know aol sucks) for her. So I want to load avg first to protect her system. Will avg work on 98? Of course I will use the firewall too. Thanks for the help. It'been been a long time since I have worked on a 98 box.
__________________

__________________
Hiding out in Afghanistan....
BubbaGump69 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Fix the registry with CCleaner
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 11:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via Yahoo to BubbaGump69
Default

Thanks bro I'll give that program a shot. It looks good.
__________________
Hiding out in Afghanistan....
BubbaGump69 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.