need help in windows xp problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2006, 10:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default need help in windows xp problem

i have installed windows xp previously on my system. It was all working fine on my seagate 80gb hard disk. now when i start the computer, it goes to the windows xp logo then a quick blue screen appears and restarts the computer again. does it over and over again. when i put in the windows xp CD and go to recovery console, it comes out with just C:\
and when i type c:\windows, it says unable to access drive renumeration or something to that effect. I just need to get my data out of that C drive thats all. I have tried using the hard disk as a slave and still does not let me access that C: part. Could someone please assist me in getting my stuff out of the hard disk or let me know how i could get windows to start again. F8 does not help as well, safe mode etc. the partition on the harddisk words alright.. its only the windows section that i need to get in.

thanks in advance.

hardeep is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 10:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760

Did you add anything new to the system prior to this error?

brady is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 07:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

XP Repair install

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, read this Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 09:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2

i have tried F8 and to boot safe mode.. it says press ESC to cancel loading SPTD.SYS

I installed deamon tools before all this happened.

Warez Monster... by doing your recommendation, my data such as outlook express emails, my documents, desktop files will still be intact?

appreciate your kind assistance.
hardeep is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1

There is one part you have to take in consideration about running the repair option for Windows XP. If you have the Service Pack 2 for windows XP and you run the repair option it will corrupt the OS install. Your first option would be to enter the recovery console by press 'R'.. then selection the install option.. Normally it will be 1. Then hit enter bypass the admin password then type chkdsk /r at the Dos prompt.

If the Admin password does not accept when hitting enter then press the ESC key. then continue with chkdsk /r.

In the begining if it does not give you an instal option but give you the dos prompt then type chkdsk /r
gwtechie72 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.