Need Help with Vista Ultimate 64bit. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2007, 10:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Need Help with Vista Ultimate 64bit.

Hey guys...i was running xp pro and then i formatted my hdd, except my partition and installed vista 64 bit on it.

Now when i goto c:drive...i see two program files folders.

1-Program files
2-program files x86

so whenever i install anything...it installs on the x86 one....
is that correct?
am i doing anything wrong here?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 09:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need Help with Vista Ultimate 64bit.

no response?

i know a couple of you guys are using vista 64 bit.

I just need to know if its normal for like every application or game in install to to in the program files x86 folder.

thanks
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 10:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Need Help with Vista Ultimate 64bit.

Well if it is for you then i guess it is normal.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 10:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need Help with Vista Ultimate 64bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Well if it is for you then i guess it is normal.
huh?...
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 11:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Need Help with Vista Ultimate 64bit.

dunno ; ; my vista ultimate is 32-bit. I've no experience with 64bit os's at all. untill i get new rig built in another month or so anyhow. then i'll be able to tell you lol.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 11:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Need Help with Vista Ultimate 64bit.

What i mean to say is if they install to the x86 folder for you then that would be normal. Honestly does it make that much of a difference if it works?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 11:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need Help with Vista Ultimate 64bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
What i mean to say is if they install to the x86 folder for you then that would be normal. Honestly does it make that much of a difference if it works?
well i just wanna know it its alright....so i dont have problems later on and have to re format.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 12:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Need Help with Vista Ultimate 64bit.

i thought it was supposed to be like that so the x64 could emulate the 32bit...don't quote me on that though
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 12:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need Help with Vista Ultimate 64bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
i thought it was supposed to be like that so the x64 could emulate the 32bit...don't quote me on that though
thats what i had in mind too, but then whats the point of having 64bit?...more trouble?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 12:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Need Help with Vista Ultimate 64bit.

pretty much.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrade from Windows 2000 to Vista Ultimate work? Wildside Microsoft Windows and Software 8 09-29-2007 11:16 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
windows vista ultimate rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 07-17-2007 08:31 AM
Anyone with Windows Vista Ultimate ? Amd2800 Microsoft Windows and Software 14 07-13-2007 08:25 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.