Need Help with Unknown Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2006, 10:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 12
Send a message via Yahoo to mnsportsmanjr
Default Need Help with Unknown Error

Ever since I got this computer I have been getting the error RTJ45JAETJTJATJJTJ Run Time Error. This was not a problem before because a box would pop up and I could click OK and it would go away. Well for the past few days I have not been getting that box so my computer is running at about 25%. When I bring up the Task Manager the error will pop into the window then go away again, then pop back up. This will happen about every 2 to 3 seconds. Since it pops up and goes away I have an hour glass symbol next to the curser and like I said my comp runs at about 25%.

Does anyone know what this is and how I can stop this from happening?

Thank You
__________________

mnsportsmanjr is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 11:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Follow these instructions carefully

Download ALL 8 programs and update if needed.

Ad Aware SE Personal Free

Spybot Search and Destroy Free

Windows Defender 2 Beta

HijackThis Free

Ewido

CCleaner

Cleanup!

Follow these steps

Delete the prefetch folder C:\WINDOWS\Prefetch, this folder will come back on next reboot.

Delete all cookies and temporary internet files in the control panel.

Go to Start, run, type msconfig, go to startup, disable everything except your antivirus, Firewall, click apply, dont reboot yet.

Download Msconfig Cleanup below

Msconfig Cleanup Free

Run Msconfig Cleanup after you unchecked the items you were told to uncheck and recheck, click "Select All", then click "Clean up Selected", then click "Quit". Make sure your antivirus and firewall are not checked.

Now run each spyware program 1 by 1. Running all 3 at the same time will slow most systems down.

When each program has finished scanning, remove everything.

Now go to the recycle bin and delete everything that is in it.

When finished with the scans, reboot, and go into Safe Mode and run these scans again, remove everything they find, and then reboot back into Windows in normal mode. You dont need to run Hijackthis! yet.

Then run HiJackthis!

Save the log, copy and paste the log on www.techist.com
Do not attach the log, copy and paste always. This will make things go much faster.
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 12
Send a message via Yahoo to mnsportsmanjr
Default

Holy crap that is allot of stuff to do. I will try it and get back to you. Thank You Very Much!
mnsportsmanjr is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 12
Send a message via Yahoo to mnsportsmanjr
Default

Ok so I installed all those that you told me to. When I installed the ewido it aoutomatically started and immediatly found a corrupted file or whatever. When I hit clean it up my computer went back to running normal. The error message that was popping up every 2 or 3 seconds it gone. Do you recommend I continue with what you said or am I good to go?
mnsportsmanjr is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

continue with it and post the log here. run those a few times, reboot and run them again. ewido will take a while to run but let it run the full scan everytime.
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 12
Send a message via Yahoo to mnsportsmanjr
Default

I dont know what ones are the antivirus and the firewall....I did find one that said in the location it was an antivirus but I dont see the firewall
mnsportsmanjr is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

im not sure what you are talking about
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 12
Send a message via Yahoo to mnsportsmanjr
Default

when you said to uncheck everything from the msconfig>startup I did that but I am unsure what ones are the antivirus and the firewall...its not clearly stated in the location files
mnsportsmanjr is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

see the | next to location? put your mouse cursor over that and dragit to the right, then post a screenshot and ill tell you which to leave.
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Look at the "command" on the middle. It will say where the location is. Disable the entry that looks like it's from your antivirus client.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.