Need help with two XP versions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2003, 01:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to SunBlind
Angry Need help with two XP versions

Alrighty, lemme see if I can explain this right... Okay, so last month my comp started screwing up royally, right? The sound was skipping and pausing, none of my programs would work without a reboot if the comp went into hibernation for even a second, I had an insane amount of processes running at Windows startup (thanks to the spyware that was snuck in through my fiance's short-lived porn phase) yadda yadda... Anywhos, I ran a virus scan yesterday and found a bunch of not good stuff on my comp (94 infected files, 92 fixed, 2 quarantined, thanks to a trojan horse) Needless to say, I deleted everything that was quarantined and infected (nothing important, just some c-coms, spyware, stuff like that) That seemed to have pissed off my comp, because it started acting up worse. It would take 30-45 seconds between clicking a quick launch icon and having the program actually open, 3 minutes to sign onto AOL, 15 seconds to show desktop, etc. I tried system recovery, all 11 available restore points, and they all gave me an unable to restore error. Now, my version of XP came with my comp when I bought it, so I had no way of repairing XP with a setup cd, nor do I have the money to buy a new copy thanks to me being 8 months prego, but I found the i386 folder in my comp with the XP setup file, so I ran it, got everything reinstalled, rebooted my comp, and noticed XP was installed twice. I've seen the other posts on here by people with similar problems, and I've already taken care of the whole boot.ini thing. Before I "reinstalled" XP I burned all my important files to cd's, and when I went to add them back in to my comp (seeing as how my programs list in the Start menu only had like 3 things, when just yesterday I had over 400 programs installed) I saw that everything was still there. If that confused you, lemme explain: I went into my computer, clicked C:, and saw EVERYTHING that was there BEFORE I "reinstalled" XP. So my question is... How do I transfer (or access) all my program files on the previous installation of XP to (or with) the new installation on XP? I'd really appreciate any help, thanks.
__________________

SunBlind is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 04:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to SunBlind
Default

Yeah, confused the hell out of me as well... And I'm the one who posted it :/ The new installation was in C:, and I've been told that the reason I have two versions in the same partition is because I didn't format C: first before I reinstalled (duh me, huh?) Eh... my comp's an HP (I did NOT pick it out either) I can't install anything on D:, it's my recovery drive, I can't even look at the files on it. I don't have a setup CD either, XP came with the comp, no setup disk of any kind included. The i386 folder has always been on my comp, I don't even remember why I ended up looking in there for the XP setup. Actually, I got the whole 2 XP versions thing figured out, I mainly just have to delete my old Windows folder now... My new prob is shutdown and restart hanging up on me at the "Saving settings" phase (oddly enough, I had the same exact problem when I first setup my comp... Don't even remember how I fixed it either) Other than that, everything's okay I guess ; Thanks for responding.
__________________

SunBlind is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Rae,,,

did the porn phase of your fiance lead to the 8 month condition you are presently in??

Seriously,, sounds more likely to me that you have created a New SID,,, Security ID number that XP attaches to the USER accounts on the PC,,

seeing as you re-ran the setup from within the program,, that does cause a problem,, you have made a Parallel install,, and because the two numbers dont match,, you do not have access to see or use the installed apps,,,

the other problem is that it is an HP,,, if you have everything backed up I would say "Great ,, Reinstall,,, " BUUUUTTT Nooooo!!!
HP has a little security built right in,, I would say that the store that you purchased it from should have provided you with the HP Kit at Point of Sale,, this would have included the Restore CD,, All the Apps,, Utility disk,, etc... if you didnt get one of those, I'd be saying,, "Hmmmmmm???' and going back and demanding something be done here,,

I have worked on a number of pavillions and installs without THEIR restore cd get corrupt!!

So, they have a side partition with the setup files on it too..? If you rerun the setup from that point do you get to have an opportunity to format only the C partition where you want to install the XP,,??

Further, when you did the virus cleansing ,, did you turn off the system restore when scanning,, if not ,, each restore point will still hold the virus files, and that may further your issues

Personally,, it sounds a Mess,, and I would blow it away and perform a CLEAN install,,

check on getting the disks with your vendor,, The fact that it is an HP will be a limiting factor without them,,

cheers, and good luck with the baby Bubba,,,
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to SunBlind
Default

LOL No, the porn phase was a result of my condition

Yeah... So I don't understand half the stuff you said/asked... So I'll just reply with what information I can.

Alright, so I actually CAN see my programs and apps, when I click on My Computer and go to my C: drive, all of my old folders and programs are there. Some of em work, some of em give me some kind of parameter error, or some other error.

I don't know anything about an HP Kit, like I said, I didn't get to pick out my comp (X-mas present). I don't know anything about partitions or formatting, I just know I was able to reinstall XP and now my comp works relatively fine, except for my restart/shutown problem.

I did disable System Restore before I ran the virus scan, though.

That's all I can tell you, that's all I know. If there's any way possible that you could walk me through fixing all this mess, I would REALLY appreciate it.

Thanks for your response and your well wishes

-Rae
SunBlind is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Since you ran a install over an install, basically what crash told you is true. You can see the apps you have installed, but since you have a new Registry, you will not be able to use them for the time. If you could acess the original config, and save out the registry you can get back to your apps. The main problem is that duing this will probably duplicate the issues you were having before. Best solution would be to locate the restore CD and start over with a fresh install. If that isn't an option, which sounds like the case, then you will need to reinstall all of the apps that you had installed before the incident.

The errors that you get are due to the needed entries in the registry not existing. The registry is the place where folder paths, .dll registration, file associations and general program operation setups are stored. Without this info most progams will not function.
Inaris is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 08:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to SunBlind
Default

Dammit... My apologies, but I really don't know what half that stuff means... I'm more of an HTML/CGI/PHP nerd than a hardware and OS one I'm the kind of person that needs a step by step walkthrough to fix things. I've tried Microsoft.com but I think they just confuse you even more.

I'm so lost...
SunBlind is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 12:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

Woohoo another Marylander! Hi!
__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 12:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to SunBlind
Default

Lol You're one of the only people I know who can say "I'm from Maryland!" without weeping with self disgust What part are you from?
__________________

SunBlind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.