Need help with Runtime Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2005, 07:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Default Need help with Runtime Error

My computer has developed an interesting problem which I cannot seem to solve. Sometimes a window will pop up with the message:

"Runtime Error!
Program: C:\Windows\explorer.exe
abnormal program termination"

When I click "ok" explorer shuts down, and then restarts itself. (The computer does not turn off). This happens when I do the following things:

1. Right-click on a desktop icon (but not the desktop itself)
2. Try to delete a desktop icon
3. Try to copy a program file
4. Try to cut a program file
5. Try to move a program file
6. Try to right click on a program file

Furthermore, basic explorer fuctions will not work. I cannot use the "find files or folders" program. Other than that, everything else works normally. I can create desktop icons, I can install and run programs, and I can move programs IFF I copy the folder they are in instead of copying the program itself. I cannot find any references on this specific runtime error, and I cannot think of anything that could have caused this problem around the time it began appearing. No viruses or spyware on my computer, and all the hard drives have been checked for errors and defragmented.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

System:

Sager NP8880 laptop
Windows XP Pro
2.4GHz P4
64MB ati mobility radeon 7500 video card
512MB Ram
__________________

Dr_Trivia is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 08:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

You have got a virus or something. Sorry to inform you. There is something major hapining there. Sicen you desktop (Explorer) crashes everytime you do something you got issues. Try a virus scan and spyware. It might just be malicious spyware causing the problem not a virus. If neither of those work you will probably have to do a Windows Repair.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 08:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

try updating your directx9 or java. this is usually where you see these runtime errors
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Something is wrong and I mean way wrong. Run all your anti-whatever scanners and update with microsoft. If that doesn't work this could be trouble...
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.