Need Help Reformatting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2005, 02:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Question Need Help Reformatting

Hi I'm a computer noobie and i wanna reformat my comp to start over from scratch. I think i can do it if i follow instructions on websites, but I don't have a windows Xp disc, but i do have a windows 2000 proffessional disc. Can I reformat (reboot) a comp with WIndows XP to Windows 2000 using the windows 2000 disc. Also what is considered a bootable disc? The CD i have is the WIndows 2000 Upgrade CD, not a restore CD. I've never reformatted before, so any tips, or instructions would be very helpful.
__________________

airtim00 is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 04:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sorry if it is the upgrade disc i don't think it will be possible, not without another copy of windows earlier than 2k that is. the upgrade discs have to be started from within windows and upgrade versions are locked out if they are started from within an os newer than the upgrade version. i think. so to be able to use the upgrade version it would need to be started from say win me or 98se.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 04:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

You can use an upgrade disc with no problem as long as it can detect that there's already a windows on the machine. If it doesn't detect it, it will ask for a full version of a windows OS disc. You don't actually have to install that disc, you just have to have it, and put it in when it asks, take it out, and put your current disc back in. You don't actually need to install from this disc, so if you don't have one, maybe you could borrow. I've got a Windows 98 full version disc I use for this purpose sometimes.
Shannon is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 11:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

www.bootdisk.com will get you where you need. download windows 98 oem
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 04:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

lol i wouldn't know with "my fully licensed copy" of the upgrade version
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.