Need help re-installing Win98SE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2003, 10:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Default Need help re-installing Win98SE

I was having several software conflicts, crashing programs, and was unable to install any software or hardware because of unkown errors. I formatted my c: and planned to reinstall Windows with my master restore disk. However, when I place the disk in the CD-Rom I can hear the CD spin, but it will not start the restore sequence. It just sits with a flashing white cursor and a black screen. After 30 seconds, the cd quits and everything stops.

The computer came from factory with the hard drive partitioned into C: and D:, with D: have system_sav label. I used fdisk to delete both partitions, recreated the C: partition and formatted IT thinking it would then pick up the CD like a new hard drive would. However, this did not work. I tried booting with a Win98SE boot disk into CD-Rom support, but the same black screen appears. Something is holding the restore sequence up, but I have no idea what. Can you help? Thanks.
__________________

kevinj45 is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 10:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
rio
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13
Default

Is the CD a recovery CD, but not an installable Win98 CD?
__________________

rio is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 10:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Yes, it's the CD that originally came with the computer when I bought it. It's actually a two disk set.
kevinj45 is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Can ya get any support from where ya got the Box. Sounds like a Disk Issue
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 11:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

sounds like it is a recovery cd set,, now what you have to do is two-fold,,

try this first,, with the machine ON,,, put the first cd into the tray,,, then shutdown, and restart the computer,, with any luck the cdrom will be the first boot option in the pc bios,, considering it came with restore cd's i would say yes,,

once the machine powers up,, the cd rom restore disc that you put in their should be initialized,, then the restore process will begin,,

Consider,, that any files you had will be GONE,, and consider, that any hardware changes that you made after purchase will NOT be recognized by the restore cd's,, they will only recognize what the OEM was,,,

further,, if the cd does not start automatically,, then you will have to make it the first boot device in the BIOS settings,, on power on ,, you usually have to hit DEL key to get into the bios,,

once in their,, look for BOOT order,,and then move CDROM to the FIRST position,, reboot,, see what happens,,

bit of a start for you,,

cheers,
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.