Need help with multiple problems with Vista Home Premium - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2007, 07:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 22
Default Need help with multiple problems with Vista Home Premium

I have a HP DV6000T with Windows Vista Home Premium. It came preinstalled with Vista so I have no hardware or driver issues and all updates are current. My biggest complaint is IE7 constantly freezes up and needs to be restarted. I usually have multiple tabs open so all the pages have to close and this is becomming a real annoyance. It probably happens about every other day. Is there anyway to fix this? Also sometimes windows itself freezes up and I have to hard power it down. The system is very slow to boot and shutdown. I have turned off almost all startup programs with msconfig. I am running a core 2 duo 1.73 ghz and 1.5 gb of ram. I think it should be a little faster. I'm almost to the point of buying a second hard drive and just installing XP. If anybody has any tips and tricks to make vista actually perform like it should I would like to hear them.
__________________

Jack10525 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 07:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Need help with multiple problems with Vista Home Premium

It just froze up right after I posted this. I had a few other tabs open and one stop responding. I waited because windows said it was trying to fix the problem. It didn't. I have never seen it fix the problem. God this is anoying.....
__________________

Jack10525 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dio1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 205
Talking Re: Need help with multiple problems with Vista Home Premium

Yeah, it happened to me too, and I have 2 gb of ram and running at 2.11GHz. How did I fix this problem, I went back to XP (^_^), until service pack 1 or 2 comes out for vista, I'm sticking with XP.
__________________
Capitol-College '2014
M.S. in Information Assurance
North Carolina A&T State University '2011
B.S. in Computer Science
Dio1080 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 04:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
steveasorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 74
Default Re: Need help with multiple problems with Vista Home Premium

use mozilla firefox?
__________________
MSI 945P Neo3
Intel Core2duo E6400 @ 2.6Ghz - :(
Corshair XMS 4x512(2gigs)
eVga 8600GT
Aspire Cooling Case
250gig SEAGATE
DVD+CD ROM/BURNER
Antec 550W PSU
Windows XP
steveasorus is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 04:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: Need help with multiple problems with Vista Home Premium

tweakguides.com has a guide to go over basically anything vista, I'm sure if you went over it you would come up with some solutions but unfortunately its not a quick fix....
macdawg is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 04:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Need help with multiple problems with Vista Home Premium

The first thing I do when I buy any prebuilt computer is wipe it clean and install a clean OS.

Once you do this and use firefox you shouldn't have any complaints.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 07:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default Re: Need help with multiple problems with Vista Home Premium

i think u should use firefox as well
also u should reinstall vista and get rid of all the crap that hp put there that you no doubt dont need!
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 03:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Need help with multiple problems with Vista Home Premium

HP doesn't give out the OS disks...all they give you is a image restoration disk, which puts back all the crap that was already on the computer. So you'd have to get a new copy of the OS
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Problems FadingTheory Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-24-2007 06:55 AM
Vista home premium Bruce Microsoft Windows and Software 0 05-21-2007 01:29 PM
Vista Home Premium 32bit or 64bit cub1971 Microsoft Windows and Software 10 04-20-2007 08:18 PM
Vista Home Premium Media Center Question db_21 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-19-2007 09:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.