need help with installing xp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2006, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default need help with installing xp

i have xp pro and it installs all the way till it finishes installing networking then it pops up a message saying some files on windows xp professional service pack 2 cd are needed
insert windows xp professional service pack 2 cd into the drive selected below and then click OK. well on the cd is says windows xp professional w/service pack 2 so i dunno what to put in?? can someone help me? btw this is a legit copy of windows.
__________________

NewCents05 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 09:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Try another CD-ROM drive. Perhaps it's having reading problems or the disc is scratched.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 09:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

looked at the disc and it looks fine to me and i have no other cd rom drive i dont get why it would stop and this certain point...
NewCents05 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

if I recall correctly...my last install of xp i had to go from disc 1, to disc 2, then to disc 1...

not all that helpful but eh...on my way to vista baby
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 10:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

well i dont seem to have a second disc i bought this from a college bookstore and it came with windows xp professional w/ service pack 2 then a second cd that said windows xp x64 or something like that so the 64bit version of windows but i tried putting that cd in too and nothing so im not sure
NewCents05 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 05:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

k now its says "the file 'asms' on windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 CD is needed

Type the path where the file is located, and then click OK
__________________

NewCents05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.