Need Help Installing Windows XP... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2006, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Default Need Help Installing Windows XP...

I just recently installed a new Motherboard, CPU, Video Card, and SATA Hard Drive in my computer, and can't get Windows to install off the CD. Every time it gets to the part where it says "Setup is starting Windows" on the bottom and then I get a blue Stop Screen which says:

A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

If this is the first time you've seen this Stop error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

Check to be sure you have adequate disk space. if a driver is identified in the Stop message, disable the driver or check with the manufacturer for driver updates. Try changing video adapters.

Check with your hardware vendor for any BIOS updates. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing. If you need to use Safe Mode to remove or disable components, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then select Safe Mode.

Technical information:

*** STOP: 0x0000007E (0xC0000005, 0xC73CF980, 0xF78D2120, 0xF78D1E1C)

*** acpi.sys - Adress F73CF980 base at F73AD000, DateStamp 41107D27
Keep in mind Windows is not istalled yet, the setup CD had just gone through the loading files phase, and stopped on "Setup is loading Windows".

deathmetal is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 05:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

maybe bad hard drive or memory issue

Osiris is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Default same problem

i,m having the same problem , dethmetal if u hav discovered whts ur problem then plz let me toooo
ashwin444 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 09:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453

look at this

maybe bad ram ?
LA1 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 05:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8

thnx i,ll chk those.
ashwin444 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.