Need Help In Diagnosing a Problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2004, 04:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

well, since you had no vid at one point I'd say the vid card needed reseating. as you've already done that, should be fixed. usually if you get no video during boot its a problem with the vid cards seating. think you should be fine now. oh, and emachines are actually some of the best machines ever.










Just kidding.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 04:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 98
Default

I have to totally disagree with your assessment on the video card. If my bios fried, I would have no video.....however, reseating the VC wouldn't help too much. Where you from in MO???

(And BTW, I have the shirt you got your quote from and it should be "Never argue with idiots, They just drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience".)
__________________

__________________
If I\'m curt with you, it\'s because time is a factor. I think fast. I talk fast. And, I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please with sugar on top, clean the fu**ing car- Winston Wolf, Pulp Fiction
wansingct is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 04:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

its a good saying, got to say that! MO? heh, oops... actually I'm in TN. Anyhow, looks like he did unplug the vid card and then plugged it back in and its working. I've seen this problem OFTEN. The way I see it, if its running fine... and usually no vid= bad seating... bad processor= one long, annoying continuous beep... bad MBD... well, nothing at all. Thats why I'd have to say vid card. Heh, is betting in the forums legal?


anyhow, that should fix the no vid error... the reboots are another issue. VIA and NVidia have a known issue on some of the chipsets. I'll give you the link for it. That maybe why the rebooting is occuring. The no vid, though... I still think thats just a matter of a reseat. Either VIA or NVidia are supposed to comeup with a software update... when, I dont know... here's a link (just type in "VIA NVIDIA problems" in a search..

http://www.theinquirer.net/Default.aspx?article=1795

http://www.kickassgear.com/Articles/GeForceVIA.htm

These are a few of the URL's... there are more, though. Some talk of a specific chipset while others say the VIA and NVidia (newer, I'm guessing) have a SERIOUS compatablility problem.


Here is a forum with some good bits, too:

http://www.anetforums.com/posts.aspx?ThreadIndex=5605
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.