Need help config boot.ini - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2006, 09:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
Default Need help config boot.ini

I installed a new harddrive (IDE) and also installed a x64 winxp on it. My system had a RAID drive that comes with winXP sp2. Because when I installed the x64, the windows didn't recognize my RAID drive. So now I end up having two installation of windows with seperate boot.ini
I want to make one boot loader which can let me choose from these 2 OS.
I am not clear on this line "multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)". how does multi, disk, rdisk work?
__________________

Richard823 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 10:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

does you other install ever work?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I'm some what confused XP x64 doesn't have a SP2 yet it has a SP1 which is almost like the 32 editions SP2 though.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
Default

yes, my other installation of XP SP2 works. I just want to edit the boot.ini so the boot loader can find that OS. Anybody can explain how each of these terms means?
Richard823 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 06:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Default

you can setup 2 OS on 2 primary partition, if one has changes, it won't effect to other one.
__________________
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\">Where we are today is a result of the choices we made yesterday.
Lets make the best choices today that we might have the best tomorrow.</font></b>
<font color=\"#FF0000\"><b>The road to success is always under construction.</b></font>
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\"> Everyday is a bad day, some are just worst than others.</font></b>
<font color=\"#FF0000\"><b>If you never learn to face your fears, you\'ll never learn to face life.</b></font>
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\">Live your life so that when you die, you\'re smiling and everyone around you is crying.</font></b>
time_come_back is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 07:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
Default

They are on completely different discs... one on a RAID drive and one on IDE drive. I just want to know how to edit the boot loader so that my machine can find the OS that's on the RAID drive.
__________________

Richard823 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.