Need Help with Com3 Port (modem not working) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2005, 06:22 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
Send a message via ICQ to Mehdi Send a message via Yahoo to Mehdi
Default

hey monster warez, how would i check into my bios?!
i did upgrade the bios software (original version was 1.2) but it didn't solve anything!
__________________

Mehdi is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 06:23 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Do this first


Run Services.msc in the RUN box...

Open the window to full screen.
Scroll down to Terminal Services and right click it.
Click Properties
Click the box that probably has "Automatic" in it.
You want to change this to "Disable"
apply the change ,,,, OK and close the entire window.
Reboot
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 06:25 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

For some reason after installing SP2, Terminal Services gets attached to com3, this is how to unattach it if this is the case
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 06:29 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
Send a message via ICQ to Mehdi Send a message via Yahoo to Mehdi
Default

i did!
it still doesn't work!
terminal services is diabled now but it is still the same!
Mehdi is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 06:30 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Try a reboot after that as well for the settings to take place.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 06:30 PM   #26 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

DM still shows no modem ?


warez... i don't mean to step on your toes at ALL.
im just kinda monitoring this issue.
you ROCK !
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 06:32 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
DM still shows no modem ?


warez... i don't mean to step on your toes at ALL.
im just kinda monitoring this issue.
you ROCK !
Hey, anyone with advice is more than welcome, you never know, i could be going around the problem and someone might come on here that knows the answer, so keepem coming.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 06:34 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
Send a message via ICQ to Mehdi Send a message via Yahoo to Mehdi
Default

thanks warez for your support man.
i really appreciate it!
i did reboot but still nothing happening!
Mehdi is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 06:36 PM   #29 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I think its weird b/c COM3 is a virtual port...
There must be a new entity using this VP.
entity : meaning app/spy/adware/virus something is there.

Mehdi claims nothing has changed... something had to change.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 06:39 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

run hijackthis 1.99 and post your log here

http://www.merijn.org/files/hijackthis.zip
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.