Need help with bootdisk - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2005, 03:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Default Need help with bootdisk

I have win xp installed on my machine and can't get it to load.

What I want to do is create a dos/win 98 boot cd so I can access from files on the c: drive, coupled with cdrom support from the command line.

Thanks
__________________

paultfh is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 06:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

This might help you

http://www.nu2.nu/bootablecd/
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 02:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks, I am now able to get to a dos prompt. Is there a way to run the xp recovery console from dos? Or is there another program I can run to rebuild/repair the boot files?
paultfh is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 02:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

I don't think so, you can either run the recovery console right from your XP disk, or you can install it on another partition and it shows up as a boot option.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 02:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

User this instead. it runs WinPE which allows you to do a lot more.
http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/

To run recovery console, you need to boot from the XP disk. Then select R at the screen prompt for what you want to do.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 07:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Default

The problem is when I run from the XP CD, it stops before the reocvery option and says:

ntkrnlmp.exe could not be loaded
Error Code 7
paultfh is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 08:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Sounds like you might have a bad CD. If you need a new one, find a ISO online or have Warez tell you where one is. You can only do this if you have a full release CD, otherwise it's illegal. You will also need the Key code from your disk if you reinstall that way.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 03:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
Sounds like you might have a bad CD. If you need a new one, find a ISO online or have Warez tell you where one is. You can only do this if you have a full release CD, otherwise it's illegal. You will also need the Key code from your disk if you reinstall that way.

Good luck
Thats what I thought, I've tried 4 different ones.
__________________

paultfh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.