Need help (badly) with how to use system restore - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2006, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Need help (badly) with how to use system restore

I have computer I'm trying to fix. Pretty much nothing works because nothing has a association. I put the hard drive in another computer so I could access files. From there I was able to open system restore but it defaults to the first hard drive.

Is there anyway I can make the system restore work on the second hard drive?

If the question is confusing please say so, I'll try and word it another way because I really really need help. This computer is driving me crazy.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Unfortunately, System Restore only works on the hard drive that Windows is installed on.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

I have windows installed on the other hard drive though. Does the system restore only work on the primary hard drive?
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 05:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Well, what was the original problem with the hdd? Porhaps we can present an alternative that will fix this problem without using system restore.
OutThere is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 06:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

The problem is that absoulutly nothing works except IE. Whenever I try to open anything withany method it says there is no association and won't open. I have tried almost eveything and nothing fixes it.
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 08:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
Default

for that instance I do not suggest using system restore, that will put a HUGE bandaid on your system. You would be better off to reinstall or repaire. Unless all you want to do is get to a point where you can backup your files before reformating, because then you could reformate your drive. Either way, system restore probibly isn't going to work. You can try it by going to start, then run and type in "MSConfig" and click on the button that says system restore.
OutThere is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 12:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Tried that it won't work. When I say nothing works I mean I can't even use the run commands or if I boot into safe mode command prompt that won't even work. I even did a repair install and that didn't even fix it.
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 12:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Back up all your files, to another drive or a patition on the drive, that you need/want. And reformat, reinstall OS, and put all the files on on the drive.
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.