need help badly BIOS error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 05:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to hitchel44
Unhappy need help badly BIOS error

ok heres the deal
I have a sony vaio laptop pcg-nvr23
When I turn the computer on the sony vaio symbal comes up then a msg saying that there is an error 0280 and that previous boot failed and that default boot in progress then at the bottom it says press f1 to continue and f2 for setup. When I hit either of them the computer freezes. It also says that phoenix bios has an error. Does anyon have any ideas. Please help me. I have no way to do anything. O yea i tried putting windows xp reboot disc asweel as the sony vaio reboot discs in it does not change what happens and i cannot change the boot sequence from hard drive to disc drive that could be why. Please help me tyvm!
__________________

hitchel44 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

try flashing the bios.
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 02:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to nishaj_007
Default

Just clear BIOS and then try reboot
nishaj_007 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 04:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to hitchel44
Default

please explain how i do this i dont know how whhat keys do i hit etc.
hitchel44 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 04:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to hitchel44
Default

so u hit delete to get into the bios menu correst. I hit, held, pushed it repeatedly while comp was bootin up nuthin happened any suggestions pls help meh!
hitchel44 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 05:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 18
Default

depends on the motherboard what keys you use to get into the bios, upon boot quickly go through all the function keys, (ie. f1, f2, f3, etc...) that should get you into the bios.. once in the bios go through the different screens until you see something that says reset bios defaults, select that and save the configuration and reboot
techsupport is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 12:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to hitchel44
Default

well ive ended up takin it in and the people their dont even know what is wrong. i couldnt try the f1 etc that tech support posted cause i already turned it in. they said it was prolly a power outage, but i dont think power outages screw up computers past the point of fixing if yall have any further suggestions please let me know and thank u all for the help
hitchel44 is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 12:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

try all battery out including cmos battery. hold the power button down for 2 minute. put the bat. back in. this is an easy way to clear your cmos
__________________

EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.