Need help, AHCI rollback - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2008, 03:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Need help, AHCI rollback

I need to disable AHCI and go back to the native IDE drivers. When i disable AHCI in bios, Windows XP keeps rebooting all the time during the boot up.

How can i disable AHCI and work with the native IDE drivers again ?

Regards
Cristian
__________________

crismdq is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Need help, AHCI rollback

are you running a raid set up? You may have to boot into safe mode and update some drivers.
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 04:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Need help, AHCI rollback

No, i do not have any raid configured. Just one SATA disk.
crismdq is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 05:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Need help, AHCI rollback

Have you installed your latest chipset drives in XP?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 02:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Need help, AHCI rollback

This is what im doing.

I have a working XP on a Core2Duo computer with AHCI activated. I sold that computer but not the HDD.

Now i have a backup computer without AHCI until the patrs for the new computer arrives, and need to boot my XP with AHCI drivers on it.

Windows start booting, then reset by itself.
crismdq is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Need help, AHCI rollback

So this drive is from another PC? That is the problem. Do a repair install on XP. The hardware profile doesnt match which is causing you problems.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rollback display drivers Pinscher New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-24-2007 08:50 PM
AHCI causes BSOD 0x0000007B advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-10-2007 10:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.