Need Help !!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2006, 07:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default Need Help !!!

Ok my friends computer has a popup, without IE even on, that says your computer is infected with some crap and to goto fixit.com . It lists 5 different sites each time it pops up, i just remember that one.

I loaded spyware blaster, spy bot S&D and norton system works, a combination that has kept my system at 98% spyware free. Yet after all this it still has the popup.

The biggest problem is task manager, msconfig are locked out,nothin is clickable and gpedit.msc and regedit files are missing. I've had task manager locked out before but was able to get it, but with all these other things missing , i dont know what to do.

running windows XP Pro SP1
__________________

badkitty is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 07:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Use Avast and Ewido.

Avast : (Free version)
Ewido: Malware removal.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

k i will try...thanks....there are soo many of these programs out there...free,,,pay..hard to find good ones.
badkitty is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 02:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.get-in-control.com/msconfig-cleanup/

http://www.ccleaner.com/

http://www.stevengould.org/software/cleanup/

some more programs you need to run
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 05:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

maybe LOP.com ....screwin hate that but the onyl real way to fix lop ive found is by going to lop.com and DL the uninstall file
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 05:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well it could be Windows Messenger is still active. You only have SP1 which has Windows Messenger on by default. SP2 turns it off by default.

To turn off Windows Messenger Start>Run>Services.msc when that windows pops up scroll down to you see MEssenger and stop it and disable it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 07:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by snypercore
maybe LOP.com ....screwin hate that but the onyl real way to fix lop ive found is by going to lop.com and DL the uninstall file

there are other ways than that.never go to the spywares website to use their uninstaler
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.