Nav2002 running on WXP Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2003, 12:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 17
Default Nav2002 running on WXP Pro

I have a laptop that I'm trying to get the NAV running on. The PC is running WXP Pro. I have a fresh install of NAV2002, but it will not run. The program opens for about 4-5 seconds then closes. I have uninstalled & reinstalled a total of 3 times and still get the same thing. The program will run in safe mode but not normal. Any tips, tricks, etc. would be greatly appreciated.

bulger07 is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 09:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 17

The NAV2002 was the only version previously installed. I removed all that I could find using both the add/remove and then editing the registry. I did this a total of 3 times. I finally put on NAV2003, which will run in the background but will not stay open when we try to access the program.Live update is working in the background.
I didn't get the walk thru when I tried the link.
The original installation had never been updated, and I found the welchia worm and got rid of it, could this be part of the problem?I reinstalled after getting rid of the worm.

bulger07 is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 10:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

Hmmm,,, sounds like you better check your rights and permissions on the laptop too,, in XP if you are not in the administrators group you will have a lot of difficulty and weird behaviours from software that you attempt to install,,

as MB said,, if you run the install over and over again,, the cleaning process also includes the registry,, which if you dont have the experience to clean,, could turn into a rebuild,, so back up all your files one way or the other,,

I would say check your permissions,,

Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 02:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 17

Unfortunately I don't have the laptop here anymore, but I was logged in as administrator when I did the installs. We have another machine that is running W2000 Pro that had welchia also and it is doing the same thing after removing the virus. This machine also has a fresh install of NAV after virus removal.That's why I thought maybe had something to with the virus, we used the fix from Symantec.
bulger07 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.