NAV problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2003, 10:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
NP
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3
Default NAV problem

Hi everybody...
I've a problem with my NAV.. I had NAV2003 installed on my computer but I had to uninstall it. When I tried to reinstall it didn't work, I couldn't scan for viruses and the auto protect (running in background) didn't work also..
please help, thanks in advance!


my computer specs:win xp pro,AMD PALOMINO XP 1500

ps. I don't want to format my pc, thanks..
__________________

NP is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 06:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 11
Default

Sorry to say but I had same problem.Tried all Nortons remedies from their support site but had to reformat.
__________________

mur6162 is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

I don't think a reformat is needed, but you do have to get EVERY instance of Nortons off of your computer. And when I say EVERY, I am talking about the registry too.

You will more than likely have to go through your registry and do a manual search. I would start with terms like: NAV, Nortons, Symantec, Antivirus, ect...

Hope this is helpful.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 05-23-2003, 05:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
NP
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3
Default

thank's every one
NP is offline  
Old 05-23-2003, 05:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

Sounds like you will have to do some registry crawling...Although there is software but for the life of me i can't remember it that will clean it for you........let me see if i can find it....
__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 05-23-2003, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Use System Mechanic, should get it out for ya.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 05-23-2003, 07:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

I was going to suggest that Ecniv, but I think some of the files are in folders that SM won't look in unless, it is told too. I will have to double check this.

I use SM too, and SM Mobile on customers PCs. Good software.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 05-24-2003, 04:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
NP
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3
Default

O.K thank's for the help
__________________

NP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.