N00b Network question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2005, 06:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default Connect to other computers on my network

I'm working on settin up a litle network at my house, nothing big, just a little peer to peer workgroup setup. 4 machines running XP, one machine running 2000. When I try to access some computers from another computer, I either get the innaccessible computer, log on as user dialog, or another log on as user dialog. Sometimes it comes up and I can enter the username and password, but others it comes up and the username is grayed out and set as guest. Anyone know why? It's weird, because all my Guest accounts are disabled. I have Administrator on all of the machines, and the same username on all machines as well. Isnt there a checkbox somewhere that I have to check that says "Allow other computers to connect to this computer" or seomthing like that?

If you cannot decipher what I am asking, just say so and I will try and break it down.

Thanks!
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

As I can see, your trying to log into another computer? Have you tried to use the username and password to that computer? Such as, if you're on a computer with name "user1" and password "pass1", and the computer you're trying to access is "user2" and the password is "pass2", have you tried the login of "user2" with "pass2"? Hope this helps, and please forget about my previous posts.

-SkyHi
__________________

SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah, for example, I make an account called Him on every computer in my house. Same password on all, everything. Even though they are there, and I have that same account on the computer I use to try to connect, still no dice.

And posts and little tiffs stay with there respective posts. They shouldnt bleed over into other posts really. So it's all good in the neighboorhood, my man.
Him is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 07:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Well, I'm sorry about being so immature, but now off of that other post. Um, so you're trying to log into it? Or are you just trying to access it? Also, what exactly do you want to do with the network, I mean, you said a p2p network for your computers, so you just want to share files? If so, you could use Windows networking. Is this what you're doing?

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah, like I said, a workgroup. That is windows networking. The difference between logging onto it and accessing it, I dont think there would be one. But for sake of conversation, yes, just trying to access it. I just want to send out some files from my computer to the other one. I'm suprised I'm having this problem, makes me feel quite dumb. I can also seemlesly access the W2K machine, but the XP machines prove to be a bit of a challenge.
Him is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Well, as what you just said, I might know the problem. Maybe I get you wrong, but I don't think you can _send_ a file on a network, without someone on the other end saying "Yes I'll recieve this," which, I don't think that is even possible unless your using some client that lets you do that. Can you get on the other computer and take files off of another?

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

no, you can go to My Network Places (this depending on you having Sharing enabled) and you can go to the computer in question, click on the drive, and have access to whatever is enabled as sharing.

So, for example, I could go to my brothers computer and into the windows folder (saying it is shared) and copy something onto his desktop, or vice versa.
Him is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 08:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Oh, well do you have
Quote:
Allow network users to change my files
enabled? This is in Network sharing and security, upon right click.

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 09:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

what firewall are you using? also is your internet ran to the router or through one computer (Internet Connect Sharing)?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 09:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Did you try using the Windows XP network setup assistant? As lame as it sounds it really does a good job of setting up all the sharing/permissions and that sort.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.