My Vista Startup time is taking waaaay too long...help? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2007, 05:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Default My Vista Startup time is taking waaaay too long...help?

from the time I press the power button to power up the PC to the time it gets to the log on screen (username/password), it takes anywhere between a minute to 3 minutes at times, usually 2-3 minutes. It just sits there, pure black screen then eventually the log on screen comes up. I have checked what I could in the Bios to make sure everything is ok and it appears it is. The pc is only 4 months old and wasn't like this before. Moreover, I sure don't expect Vista to act like this much less with a new Dell PC....help, please?? PS- I have the Vista Premium (32-bit) on a Dell Dimension E520 with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6300 (1.86GHz,1066FSB) with 2MB cache, 2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE Graphics GPU and 250GB SATA II Hard Drive (7200RPM). I did have a Nvidia 7300LE video card installed but I have removed it from one of the PCI-e slots.
__________________

fcui21 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 05:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: My Vista Startup time is taking waaaay too long...help?

no specs....!
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 06:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My Vista Startup time is taking waaaay too long...help?

New Dell PC...there is the problem. Do you have the AOL trial, Netscape trial, mcafee trial or any of htat other trial software on there? If so all that helps slow down your PC. Espically Norton and McAfee. They can slow down a boot time up to 50% or more. I have done tests in VMWare to prove this.

Open up the Command Prompt. Type in msconfig. Under Startup see what you have running. that will help us figure out the issue.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 07:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: My Vista Startup time is taking waaaay too long...help?

Hey Makaveli,

No I have removed the useless trail softwares that it came with but I do have the full version of McAfee security center installed on my PC. I have to note though that this 2-3 minute boot time problem even with McAfee installed was not as bad as it is today until I removed a video card in one of the PCI-e slots (Nvidia 7300LE)....I noticed right around the time I did this is when this problem started happening...could be a coincidence but from a software standpoint the only things I have set up to run at start-up would be McAfee and PC tools SPyware Doctor.
fcui21 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 07:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: My Vista Startup time is taking waaaay too long...help?

post a hijackthis log
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 07:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My Vista Startup time is taking waaaay too long...help?

It could be that by removing the video card that the PC is still trying to load the drivers for the card even though it isnt there. That would lead me to suspect a driver loading issue which can cause load times to increase. In that case you need to google for driver cleaner pro and remove all old drivers that are no longer in use. Like the nvidia ones. If you have installed a newer card then still remove all the old drivers and re-install them. That way the PC isnt looking for the 7300 and will look for the new card installed.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 08:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: My Vista Startup time is taking waaaay too long...help?

That's what I have been suspecting to be the problem...would you be able to refer me to a few places for driver cleaners? I googled it and found several places, some for $10 some for free (Freeware)...I would like a reliable one without any hidden malware or even a virus attached to it
fcui21 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 09:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My Vista Startup time is taking waaaay too long...help?

The Guru of 3D Download Section

Driver Cleaner Pro 1.5 - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

Either one of those is fine. I see that drivercleaner.net is now charging for this. When the driver cleaner that is at those 2 sites above is still free and works just as good.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 02:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dio1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 205
Cool Re: My Vista Startup time is taking waaaay too long...help?

Well, I had that sammmmmmmme problem and I went back to XP and everything is working fine now. Vista is just buggy, you can please that player.
__________________
Capitol-College '2014
M.S. in Information Assurance
North Carolina A&T State University '2011
B.S. in Computer Science
Dio1080 is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 02:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: My Vista Startup time is taking waaaay too long...help?

Sounds like it's hanging on a driver. Try reinstalling the drivers for your onboard 6150 graphics, and make sure there isn't a setting in BIOS that is disabling your onboard graphics.
__________________

__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
Is it time to use Vista yet? Disillusion Microsoft Windows and Software 8 05-14-2007 12:27 PM
soundcard for vista = worthless? macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 34 05-05-2007 10:56 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.