My Vista Experience - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2005, 02:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default My Vista Experience

The past 2 days, I have been experementing with Windows Vista, and have been trying to figure out how to run a dual-boot between Windows XP Pro, and Windows Vista. To have the option of which to boot into. I've totalled formatting 8 times screwing aruond with this trying to get it to work. And finally figured out how and what to do.

Lots of thanks to Warez Monster for some help with this.

I dunno bout some of you guys, but I noob when it comes to running to OS's. I tried to make up a little guide which is below here, I'll just copy and paste. Probably sucks and is pointless to put on here. But this is what I did. And maybe sooner or later it will help one of you....

-------------------------------------------------------------


How to Install Windows XP and Windows Vista for Dual-Booting Purposes

1. First start off by putting in the XP CD, that you will be installing, HOME/PRO/x64 w/e. Now when the option comes up to boot from CD... Press and Key. Once you get into the setup menu.

2. Start my formatting the drive you would like to install both OS's to.

3. Now split the drive into 2 "Seperate Partitions" I have a 80gb That I am running this on so I split mine into 20gb and like 56 or whatever was left for the remaining parition.

4. Now install windows XP to the 2nd Parition. NOT the PRIMARY! Install Windows XP first on the 2nd parition that you made.

5. Now once you go through the process of installing XP blah blah blah,. You now have XP on your 2nd. aka Legacy partition.

6 Now its time to install Vista, pop in the DVD ISO, and run the setup. Install Vista on to the other, the PRIMARY partition that you made through the Windows XP setup. This will go through and setup Vista. Once this is done. And everything is good to go, you will turn on your computer and soon come to a boot screen menu. Mine has the options of ,,, LEGACY Microsoft Windows XP >>>>> Microsoft Windows >>>>>>> And then a backup for my Win XP boot screen.


This is how I configured mine and everything works wonderful. Hopefully if this little tutorial made any sense you can get yours working to.



Again, I am running Windows XP Professional, and Windows Vista build5259 when I did this.

Thanks, -AuThoRitY






---- If any of you would like to see a current SS of how my Vista looks, you can go to it here -----> http://ourworld.cs.com/StrothmaN18/A...aBUILD5259.JPG

I think its sex-C.
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

Anything different about it that you notice, besides the skin?
__________________

BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BandwidthHogg
Anything different about it that you notice, besides the skin?
I noticed on the 32-bit version its QUICK..its real quick..meaning browsing around your files and such is just instant..viewing thumbnails of images its fast..I could only imagine how much quicker the final release will be and even at that the 64-bit version with a 64-bit CPU..wowza.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well that is a nice guide but i can already tell where your problem lies. Build 5259 of Vista was leaked and not intended for use. It is buggy, more buggy than all but one other Vista builds. That build was the Winmain 5231 Leak.

I have dual booted XP and Vista successfully many times. With builds 5112, 5219, 5231 (Both of them. The winmain leak and the IDX released version), and now 5270. I have XP as my main partition and Vista as one of my others.

Build 5259 has been known to destroy boot managers and that is why you couldnt do this the way i have. With 5259, once you install it with XP as you primary it destroys the Master Boot Record. The only way to fix it is by inserting you XP CD and going to the recovery console. From there use the command fixmbr and it should restore your XP partition. Just make sure that XP and Vista build 5259 are both NTFS or XP will not be able to be recovered at all.

I hope this has cleared up some info for you on dual booting XP and Vista. If you want to use Vista i would suggest using a different build. 5270 is the current release but builds 5112 and 5219 are far more stable than 5231 and 5259.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 09:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

another tip.

make 3 partitions with the XP cd. I would do 15, 15 and 46, but you can go 20, 20 and 36. the smaller ones being your OS partitions and the bigger one being your documents folder so you can share the same file on both OS

you can put xp on the first or second partition. after you install xp go to computer management, then disc management under admin tools

set the other partition to active. it will boot you to an empty partition and it will hide the xp partition. install vista, it won't even know xp is there. when you are done, go back to disc management and set the xp partition back to active to get back there
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I have recommended this before but alas it still gets the MBR somehow. It was just something about Build 5259 that just didnt work right.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

cool, thx for the thoughts.
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 08:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I didn't think vista was all that fast when I tested it.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 09:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikee
I didn't think vista was all that fast when I tested it.
your hardware's prolly different.
office politics is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 09:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Win2kpatcher
I noticed on the 32-bit version its QUICK..its real quick..meaning browsing around your files and such is just instant..viewing thumbnails of images its fast..I could only imagine how much quicker the final release will be and even at that the 64-bit version with a 64-bit CPU..wowza.
indeed


Outperforms Server 2003 on the same hardware and now I'm willing to place a bet it is starting to ourperform XP in certain aspects on the same hardware. What happened to this once bloated and buggy thing.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.