My user profile is corrupted!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2005, 06:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Exclamation My user profile is corrupted!!!

With the recent spate of technology blowing up in my face, this was the straw that broke the camel's back.

When I turned my laptop on and logged onto my user account it took slightly longer than normal. When it finished loading, all that my normal account looked like was what the guest, or an empty users account looks like. When I logged out and logged back in again a message appeared that said that it was unable to log me in, most likely because my profile is corrupt. It went on to say that it would log me into a temporary account with which all settings would be lost everytime I logged out.

I found my accounts documents, but I cannot open them. For example, all Word documents just open up a blank Word screen.

What has happened? Is it possible to fix this?

The only thing that I can think that could have caused this was when I was in a hurry to turn off my laptop and rather than do the normal shut down procedure, I simply held the power button down until it turned itself off. Surely this wouldn't do it?

My account is the Owner/Admin account, there are also two other 'restricted accounts' and the guest account.

Any help or advice would be GREAT, I'm very desparate, almost to the point of tears!
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 08:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

The only thing i can think of is to log onto one of the other account and transfer the docs toa external HDD. The repair your install. If you cant get to the other account then go to the temp account. You can see them but not view them correct. then transfer them to a removable media and repair. If repair dont work then try a fresh install. A quick power down can do it. Since when you shut down it saves your settings and all that so a quick shut down can corrupt your data.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 05:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Default

how do I repair an install? Is there a possibility it could be a virus of some kind?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 03:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to baldygb
Default

If your using windows xp home edition reboot into safemode and the Administrator logon will appear above the default owner logon. The password is usually blank unless you changed it and go to docs and settings and copy everything in your profile except ntuser.dat to a temp folder on the root drive. Delete the corrupt profile under advanced system properities and then logon in owner to create a fresh profile and then copy the contents from your temp folder to the owner profile overriding all. I dont know what causes this but i am currently looking as several users where i work have experienced this problem.
baldygb is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 03:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

You can simply rename your local profile from an alternate admin account. Naming convention will be : (accountname) change it by renaming it to : accountname.old.date.
Then log off your admin account. Then log back in with your normal account. Things will look different, all you need to do is "copy" ( NOT CUT ) your Desktop/My Docs/Favorites over to your newly made local profile.

This is a good way to fix a lot of issues.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 01:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Default

Thanks for all the help. Turns out that all that was needed was to perform a System Restore Point! I did, backed up all my stuff and then formatted and reinstalled my OS.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.