My SP3 experience... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2008, 08:54 AM   #21 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My SP3 experience...

eyePC if you would have read my whole post you would see that my results stem from the fact i was trying to slipstream SP3 into a MCE disc and have a workign MCE install. MCE is not like XP Pro cause you have first off 2 CD's to install and you also have to update with the MCE 2005 Update Rollout 2 before you can slipstream SP3.

None of which worked. That was my issue. My SP3 runs just fine. Which funny enough i said back in Post #11 this same thing. I am running MCE just fin enow with SP3 installed from that very same disc. No issues. No need for a seperate installer. My issue was fully resolving around the fact i was trying to get MCE slipstreamed with SP3. NOT XP Pro.

I have made several image with XP Pro and Home already with SP3 with full success. Not a single success with MCE at all. That is the issue. Not my SP3.

Yes SP3 is worth having. Over 1,000 fixes in it. Makes it alone right there worth having.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 11:26 AM   #22 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default Re: My SP3 experience...

Just got SP3 from microsoft update site. 40 mins to install?? So far I see no issues.
__________________

__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 07:48 PM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: My SP3 experience...

Apparently it hangs up on the MCE edition however by your own description. As far as XP Home and Pro it went without a sweat just from the alternate download links one at majorgeeks and the other at softpedia.

The same went for SP1 on Vista. Why is it I never seem to have "any" problems seeing a sevice pack go on while a good number of others get stumped on something?

For continuing to use XP those 1,000 or so fixes and even some new things now being enabled is a plus. What that means is that a number of known issues in XP are now being addressed in the final service pack.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 08:19 AM   #24 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: My SP3 experience...

mak try the dell media center disc that includes rollup pack 2. every is integrated in advance
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 08:21 AM   #25 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My SP3 experience...

I dont think it would work. I have a retail serial. Not a OEM one.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 08:53 AM   #26 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: My SP3 experience...

this is how you will find if it work. it worked on my serial. insert your mce disc in with window on and the internet disconnected. for some reason, when the net is on it make a lot of serials don't work. run setup.exe. pick upgrade. put your serial in. you will know if it accepts it.

I'm thinking that maybe if you try it with disc that was made from the factory with the second disc and rollup pack 2 (I integrated it into my old mce disc too), that maybe it would work. nlite integration doesn't always work with new stuff although they (nlite) will always fix the problem when they find that out
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 12:39 PM   #27 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My SP3 experience...

Well this is what i have done. I have integrated the 2 MCE discs. I have added update rollout 2 as well. This disc that i created worked just fine. I use it for a test install.

But as soon as SP3 gets incorporated the install goes sour. I get no options for anything. No web browser till i install one. I get nothing. No MCE, no start menu items. But the OS functions.

Which is what i find odd. Cause if it wanted to i could use it. It is recognized as MCE but without the MCE parts. So it is just like XP Pro.

From what my tests have shown is that MCE just can not have SP3 slipstreamed into it. Which is what i was trying to do. I am getting a copy of the MCE disc from Dell right now like you suggested and i will test things out with that as well.

See what i can come up with.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 04:39 PM   #28 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: My SP3 experience...

let us know. this is why I haven't installed it yet
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 05:02 PM   #29 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My SP3 experience...

As soon as i get my disc i will make sure to test this out further and let you know if i can figure out how to slipstream SP3 into MCE. So far all attempts have failed.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 05:11 PM   #30 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: My SP3 experience...

this new dell mce seems to be mce serial friendly. it recognizes my other mce serials too.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Razer Barracuda 7.1 AC-1 Sound Card Experience? jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-07-2008 04:40 PM
Hellgate London: DX10 vs. DX9 Gaming Experience Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 11-26-2007 02:53 PM
Windows XP SP3 To Include Some Vista Features Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 12 10-15-2007 03:45 PM
Xp Sp3 Deadpixel Microsoft Windows and Software 19 10-01-2007 11:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.