My PC freezes when moving mouse - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2006, 03:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Default My PC freezes when moving mouse

Sometimes when I just move the mouse around (not clicking) the PC freezes. The only way to get to thaw out is to reboot.

The easiest way to get it to freeze is to cruise the mouse over the shortcuts in the Program menu (START, All Programs). It freezes every time this way.

I am using XP Pro with a K7T Pro Ver:1 motherboard and an AMD Athlon 850 CPU. I have tried switching out the CPU, power supply, motherboard, memory and video card. Even with everything unplugged accept for the essentials, it still freezes up. Maybe the case is jinxed?

I am kinda new at this computer stuff and would appreciate any help in solving this weird problem.
__________________

dumblut is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 05:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default

You tried Switching out all that!? You should have tried putting the HD in a computer in perfect condition instead of doing all that. I had a similar problem with my keyboard, except worse-every time I pressed a key on the keyboard, the computer froze and I had to restart. (look at the thread I posted: Spybot Deleted viruse in registry) You might try a repair with an xp pro installation cd. How much RAM do you have? Does your computer run slow usually?
__________________

__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 11:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

try taking out that hard drive, and putting it in another comp, along with another hard drive. ie- make it the slave drive. then run spyware scans and virus scans
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 04:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you, kfc469 and kpmwrestler for your advice on fixing the mouse-freeze problem.

I have not tried the HD in another computer because I don't have another. But when I find one I will try that.

I have two HDs installed, one with XP pro and the other XP home. I tried booting with each one and had the same exact problem of freezing when moving the mouse around. It doesn't always happen, but happens often enough to be very bothersome. Possibly both operating systems cought the same virus by being in the same computer (one as master with the other as slave)?

I did run AVG antivirus and Spybot. I guess I should run the whole smear of antispy programs and the other things suggested by Warez Monster.
dumblut is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Sounds like overheating, download everest:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4181

or check the CPU temp in the BIOS.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 09:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dumblut
Thank you, kfc469 and kpmwrestler for your advice on fixing the mouse-freeze problem.

I have not tried the HD in another computer because I don't have another. But when I find one I will try that.

I have two HDs installed, one with XP pro and the other XP home. I tried booting with each one and had the same exact problem of freezing when moving the mouse around. It doesn't always happen, but happens often enough to be very bothersome. Possibly both operating systems cought the same virus by being in the same computer (one as master with the other as slave)?

I did run AVG antivirus and Spybot. I guess I should run the whole smear of antispy programs and the other things suggested by Warez Monster.
well did ya run them all?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 09:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

People never run them all most decide that if spybot and ad aware se dont find it nothing will...Always run all programs and in safe mode.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.