my pc freez? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2006, 10:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default my pc freez?

Guys i need your help on this.
My Pc was working fine..untill i decided to clean up some space by unstalling some programms
after that the pc was working fine but once i coonnet to the internet and start for example internet explorer it freeze like 2minutes.
.so kindly if any one have any idea pls do help
THANKS.
__________________

155a is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 12:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You may have uninstalled critical file that IE still relied on. Any programs that may have been installed on IE and not correctly uninstalled may still remain in the registry. IE will freeze trying to look for it.

You can download Process Explorer to examine the hanging Explorer thread to see whether it reveals any clues about the cause of the hang.
http://www.sysinternals.com/Utilitie...sExplorer.html

Filemon and Regmon are also great tools, Filemon will reveal if the explorer is trying to access a network path. Usually in the case of uninstalling a network software,hijackers,spyware the software path still remains.

Regmon to search the registry for these key and delete them.

http://www.sysinternals.com/Utilities/Filemon.html
http://www.sysinternals.com/Utilities/Regmon.html

All three are great tools to have.

Or you can simply download Firefox
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 04:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for your reply i'll try it out...this problem not just while IE
even if open like Limewire or msn messenger..they open but once yuo start doing more tasks it freeze th pc...anyhow i will try this and see..and thanks again.
155a is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 02:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default

Try using firefox instead of IE, its a better browser anyway
__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 10:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cloud
Try using firefox instead of IE, its a better browser anyway
ditto and what exactly did you uninstall?
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 01:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Ok I have tried filemon, regmon and it didnt help.It only does moniter what the system doing...

I have IE and Netscape,So i dont think fire fox would help i know it's a cool browser...am using msn messnger,lime wire and other prog...it's happens like when i load a page with lot of pics on it...or when i use lime wire and do a search for an song once the results get so much it freeze.

Well not sure what i did unitstall i remember some prg which i dont use...the system started freezing before unstalling...but i think there were a banner when system starts which says crunch!..my brothere installed a game and it come with it so i think the problem started from here.

If anyone have any idea pls let me know!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
155a is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 05:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peterborough, Ont.
Posts: 404
Default

You can check the error log located in the computer managment console, see what went amiss at the times it froze, you can also keep an eye on your task manager and see if at odd points any running process starts maxing out your process use, check to see if your paging file useage climes inordinately high.
yosa is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 05:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=222193
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 05:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Follow these instructions carefully

Download ALL 10 programs and update if needed.

Ad Aware SE Personal Free

Ad-aware Messenger Service Plugin

Ad-Aware VX2 Cleaner Plug-In 2.0

Spybot Search and Destroy Free

Windows Defender 2 Beta

HijackThis

Ewido

CCleaner

Cleanup!

Follow these steps

Delete the prefetch folder C:\WINDOWS\Prefetch, this folder will come back on next reboot.

Delete all cookies and temporary internet files in the control panel, Internet Options.

Go to Start, run, type msconfig, go to startup, disable everything except your antivirus, Firewall, click apply, don¡¦t reboot yet.

Download Msconfig Cleanup below

Msconfig Cleanup

Run Msconfig Cleanup after you unchecked the items you were told to uncheck and recheck, click "Select All", then click "Clean up Selected", then click "Quit". Make sure your antivirus and firewall are not checked.

Now run each Spyware program 1 by 1. Running all 3 at the same time will slow most systems down.

When each program has finished scanning, remove everything.

Now go to the recycle bin and delete everything that is in it.

Then run CCleaner „² make sure you run the Cleaner section of Windows and Applications and then the Registry Cleaner. Make a backup if you wish while running the Registry Cleaner when it asks you.

When finished with the scans, reboot, and go into Safe Mode and run these scans again, remove everything they find, and then reboot back into Windows in normal mode.

Then run HiJackthis!

Save the log, copy and paste the log on www.techist.com
Do not attach the log, copy and paste always. This will make things go much faster.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 07:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Warez Mosntor,I will try do that..hoefully will help.
I will reply you the results.
__________________

155a is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.