My Mouse moving around the screen by itself - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2006, 05:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default My Mouse moving around the screen by itself

My antivirus picked up a trojan horse and when it asked me to delete or heal i decided to heal it but when it said to me i need to restart i did and i see my mouse moving slowly on the screen does anyone know of any trojans that can do that?
__________________

william232 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 05:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

It might actually be your mouse. Is it optical or mechanical? Is it cheap or expensive?

Cheap optical mice are known to "move" around the screen, disabling your screen saver.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

netbus
subseven
bo2k
office politics is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 08:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default

no neither i found it is a trojan horse that has changed my ip me and my mum are trying to figure it out but here is the trojan horse

trojan horse proxy.dvi

I've tried to look it up but no luck any help wud be great i updated my antivirus software this morning before all this happen but it but now its saying its outdated since its all grayed out my mum is blaming it on me i told her i scanned everything with avg antivirus before opening it
william232 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 05:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sevenor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 243
Default

BTW, if you are using an optical mouse, make sure you do not use it on bright/shining/reflective surfaces else that's what you would experience.
Sevenor is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 06:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

If you unplug the mouse, do you still get the problem?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 06:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default

its fixed it was cause by the trojan horse but thats gone now
__________________

william232 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.