My explorer.exe takes up 22, 000k memory usage. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default My explorer.exe takes up 22, 000k memory usage.

I received a new computer for Christmas, and 2 weeks later the Bell Sympatico modem came and I just installed internet on this computer. But when I click alt+ctrl+del, and check how much ram my computer is currently using, my explorer.exe takes up 22, 000k of memory! On my old computer, it only takes up 8, 000.

Why does it take up so much space?
__________________

Drawinger is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Thats normal. Mine is at 26,340 k
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Why does my old computer's only take up 8, 000k?
Drawinger is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 06:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

maybe because the system cant displace as much memory as your new system can...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

its normal for iexplore.exe, svchost.exe, and explorer.exe to take up lots of memory

its normal

if its getting to be a problem, get RAM installed. Its affordable, and its a great performance boost
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 11:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

it depends on how many programs are running, etc.

if you have the computer idle for the whole night, the explorer will sit at 5 MB, but if you are using media player, internet, the explorer.exe could go up to 50 MB
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.