My desktop won't boot up..Only loads into safe mode - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2006, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Unhappy My desktop won't boot up..Only loads into safe mode

I think my PC has a virus, right now I'm posting from my laptop. I can only boot up my PC into Safe Mode. If not the start up screen just counts down and reboots itself. I tried system restore (reversed it one day) but still no luck. When I turned it on today morning (when it did work) Zone Alarm pulled a warning up about LSASS. Which I denied the file acces because I remembered that it was the "sasser" virus title.
It's up to date on all microsoft updates but I think I have a several month old AV definition file
__________________

scoobywrx is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

XP SP1 or 2? lsass.exe isnt the virus....You might want to try the windows repair. Check msconfig>startup and make sure nothing is in there that dont need to be. Download msconfig cleanup and remove everything but your antivirus and firewall entries and then try to boot
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

XP SP2 is what I have... Do you have a link of what I need to download... Are their any good free AV programs.. I can use?
scoobywrx is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.grisoft.com/doc/40/lng/ww AV

http://www.get-in-control.com/msconfig-cleanup/ msconfig cleanup
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

If those don't fix it what's gone wrong?
I don't use my computer for much other than school work, visiting several car forums (Honda-tech and Nasioc) and I use photoshop on it....
scoobywrx is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You can try this:



XP Repair install

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, read this Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

I can't install AVG (when in safemode)...
scoobywrx is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well do what I suggested by removing those entries from msconfig, then try to boot. If that dont work, do the repair.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

I tried the MS config cleanup..no luck
scoobywrx is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Have you tried the Repair install that Warez mentioned?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.