My computer will not load windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2004, 09:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default My computer will not load windows

ok, the most recent change my computer wnet through, was i installed diablo 2 and LOD the expansion. that was about 4 days ago. today i installed it on another computer in the hopes that i could give another character some stuff that i had found. it said that it could not connect to battle.net so i quit d2(this was on a diff computer) then after 3 hours, i came back to my computer and tried to go onto battle.net, and it said it couldn't connect. so i restarted my computer. this is where my problems started. first it stopped at verifying dmi pool data. i finally figured out that i had a blank floppy in the drive. i took the disk out and rebooted. then i got to the "there was a problem loading windows...." screen asking me what i wanted to do. ichoose normal and nothing happened(in essence, it froze). so i hit the reset button again and then i choose last known config that worked and all i got was a black screen. i put in my pro disk, but in order to do a restor i need a restore floppy, which i do not have . so what could possibly be wrong? i even reset the cmos to defaults.

i have thought about reformatting since i was stupid and transfered stuff from my last comp over and it made most of the filenames in my windows folder turn blue(virus maybe?) so i have a reason to reformat, but i would really like to back up some files before i reformat. i am out of ideas. my sig has all the info you need.
__________________

__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 04:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Default

safe mode will be the best option, if still nothing after the system restore, you can run a windows repair w/ your cd, boot from it press enter like if you were gonna run a fresh install, agree to the terms by pressing f8, but here comes the trick part, (if not done properly you will loose all your info) windows setup will look for a previous install of windows, if found it will give u an option to press 'r' for repair.
__________________

ice8zak is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 04:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 76
Default

I wouldn't reformat. If safe mode doesn't work then I would re-install windows under a different folder (e.g. WINNT2). This would at least allow you to backup your files and then you can re-format the drive and re-install windows fresh!

Good luck!
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.zilantyas.com\">Zilantyas Technology</a>
Professional Information Technology Solutions
zilantyas is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 11:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

i did what was posted above, i put the pro cd in and went to setup and choose repair. everything worked fine.
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.