From My computer or in on start up? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2005, 03:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to Demonwithin
Default From My computer or in on start up?

What do think is better for loading a OS? disk in on start up or from my computer aftetr start up?
__________________

Demonwithin is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 03:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

If you mean whats the best way to install the OS then its best to put the CD in first rather than boot your pc then install.
__________________

__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 08:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Do it before Windows starts - you have less choices and it takes longer.
turtile is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 11:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
Do it before Windows starts - you have less choices and it takes longer.
Isn't that what I already said ?
__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 122
Default

for windows installs, it's either way, if you put the disk in while booted, you may tend to run into more problems, but you have more options like: System Acceptance Testing, etc...

Although, if you put it in at boot (before OS loading), you have a less chance of running into problems (freezing).

With linux though, you should just put the disk in before boot. If you put it in while the OS is started, it will just restart your comp and install it.
__________________
Quote:
In the eyes of Bill Gates, the open source world seems un-activated...
geffin is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 05:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

If he is looking to install a new OS, the adivsed method is to format the HDD and do a clean install.

The minimum Requirements for XP home are:

233Mhz CPU
128Mb RAM
40 Gb HDD

As for XP PRO:

300Mhz CPU
256Mb RAM
40 Gb HDD

They are just guidlines though. For XP PRO you really shouldn't be running less than 512Mb RAM and obviously any increase in CPU speed etc, is a bonus.
__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 09:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Catbert
If he is looking to install a new OS, the adivsed method is to format the HDD and do a clean install.

The minimum Requirements for XP home are:

233Mhz CPU
128Mb RAM
40 Gb HDD

As for XP PRO:

300Mhz CPU
256Mb RAM
40 Gb HDD

They are just guidlines though. For XP PRO you really shouldn't be running less than 512Mb RAM and obviously any increase in CPU speed etc, is a bonus.
where did you make these numbers up from?
straightv6 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 10:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Lets update that for him:

Here's What You Need to Use Windows XP Professional

• PC with 300 megahertz or higher processor clock speed recommended; 233 MHz minimum required (single or dual processor system);* Intel Pentium/Celeron family, or AMD K6/Athlon/Duron family, or compatible processor recommended

• 128 megabytes (MB) of RAM or higher recommended (64 MB minimum supported; may limit performance and some features)

• 1.5 gigabytes (GB) of available hard disk space*

• Super VGA (800 x 600) or higher-resolution video adapter and monitor

• CD-ROM or DVD drive

• Keyboard and Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 07:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

The spec requirements that I posted are what I go by. If you wish to use the exact min requirements as posted by MS thats fine but personaly I reckon they are crap and should be changed.

And as you can see, I have not under cut any requirments.
__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 01:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Well they do work, from MS. That's just the minimum, of course XP will run better with what you said...
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.